Babel Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/03/2019

Following four sets of characters, each from different parts of the globe and ethnic backgrounds, "Babel" is an undoubtably ambitious interwoven drama.

Rating of
3.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 05/05/2014

The tragic aftermath of human carelessness travels around the world in this multi-narrative drama from filmmaker Alejandro González Iñárritu. Richard (Brad Pitt) and Susan (Cate Blanchett) are a couple from the United States who have traveled to Morocco in Northern Africa on a vacation after the death of one of their children has sent Susan into a deep depression. Richard and Susan's other two children have been left in the care of Amelia (Adriana Barraza), their housekeeper. This movie had four different characters in one whole movie and it works so perfectly and that's why this movie is a heavy drama. The acting is brilliant and the story is fantastic.

Rating of
4/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/30/2013

I thought this was absolutely incredible! Excellent film making in my opinion. Director Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu takes another multi-faceted story but this time, he perfects it! Babel is even better than his 21 Grams of 2003. The story is emotional; the characters are fascinating; the music is gripping and the script is wonderful. The acting is outstanding. How Jennifer Hudson won an Oscar over Rinko Kikuchi or Adriana Barraza I don't know, both were absolutely stunning, while Hudson doesn't even give the best performance in Dreamgirls. A great film about people and communication! Nominated for 7 Academy Awards including Best Picture, Babel is one of the best films of the great film year 2006!

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/04/2011

The multiple story narrative works. A very good drama that takes place in many nationalities.

Rating of
0.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/22/2011

Watch this movie & prepare to fall sleep

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 09/28/2010

I didn't find the whole interlocking storylines device to be incredibly distracting or gimmicky. It's a thoughtful film that's beautifully shot and acted. The best and most important storyline, I think, is that of Rinko Kikuchi's young Asian student. That whole sequence is heartbreaking.

Rating of
3/4

gideon43 - wrote on 05/28/2010

Another fascinating multi layered movie from the director of Amores Perros. Intelligent filmmaking of the highest standard, Babel is a story of fate and circumstance. Seemingly unrelated tales from Morocco, Japan and Mexico blend effortlessly together into a mature and intimate tale, which provides excellent acting performances from the entire cast. Class barriers, cultural differences and the simple act of communicating are all explored and fully developed and the eventual effect is one of immense achievement.

Rating of
3/4

shutterspeed777 - wrote on 05/02/2009

A "CRASH" similitude from a global perspective. Good acting by BRAD PITT showing the soft side of his persona. CATE BLANCHETT was so real. Good movie. Okay now, I think the message is, no matter what tribe, what race, what creed, what social caste you belong to we are all connected. We share the same lingo of the human condition. Pain penetrates everyone. No one is impervious to the malady of being an earthling. Anti-climactic though. Needs more sense of conclusive ending.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 04/20/2009

Another good drama with interconnected story lines that play out as the film goes on. The ensemble cast has some big names, but its Rinko Kikuchi who stole the show for me. Kind of like an international Crash, but overall stronger.

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 10/06/2008

The lives of people across the globe are altered from one singular event. Adriana Barraza was screwed out of her Oscar (you all agree with me, don't lie). The title is derived from the biblical term of many different spoken languages. Brilliantly put together, this movie will leave you in tears (unless you lack a soul).

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?