The Apartment Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/28/2019

In addition to being one of the rare comedies to win Best Picture, it's aged better than a great many other Oscar winners before it.

Rating of
3.5/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/22/2018

Billy Wilder's romantic comedy works an all aspects, from narration, character development and plot to direction, acting and script, even societal controversy. Jack Lemmon, Shirley MacLaine and Fred MacMurray were terrific; technical aspects and execution are top-notch. A classic American gem not to be missed. 92/100

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/05/2013

'The Apartment' is unfairly billed as a comedy. Yes, there are comedic moments present, but the film contains a strong dramatic weight. This turn surprised me, because I had no idea what kind of film I was in for before viewing. Billy Wilder delivers another supremely well written and acted piece. There exists a melancholic mindset from both of the romantic leads. The emotions they exude fit the exact nature of someone in their position. I genuinely felt for these characters, even to the point of almost tearing up. A more depressing, but ultimately hopeful experience. I love this film.

Rating of
3.5/4

Ryan Stephen M - wrote on 04/12/2013

Very funny movie from the 60's, one of my favorite in the decade. Billy Wilder doing here what he usually does, make hits.

Rating of
3/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 11/09/2012

Typically cynical and witty black comedy from Billy Wilder and Jack Lemmon and a quality social satire in general.

Rating of
2.5/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

Lemmon is an elastic acting powerhouse and the dialogue is coy but the adultery is not so funny. A redeeming resolution though.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 09/20/2010

Slickly-written comedy of manners that features charming performances by Lemmon and MacLaine. It's funny, but in an understated way, not laugh-out-loud, like some of Wilder's other works.

Rating of
3/4

Allison - wrote on 12/24/2007

Not my very favorite Wilder, but still up there. This film has enough delightful tricks to entitle it to have won Best Picture for that year.

Rating of
3/4

Alex - wrote on 12/22/2006

One of the first romantic comedies that is much better than what they put out today in the same genre. It is cute, funny, and a joy to watch...most of the time.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?