Robin Hood Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 07/14/2015

It didn't impress critics and it underperformed at the box office (sinking plans for a sequel) but this version of Robin Hood isn't all bad. It's mainly the pacing - the movie feels long, and although many of the actors bring a lot to their roles, things never pick up the way you want them to. Let's face it, other than Disney's Robin Hood, Men in Tights and part of Prince of Thieves - it's hard to get Robin Hood right.

Rating of
1/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 02/16/2014

An archer in the army of Richard the Lionheart returns home and becomes the legendary Robin Hood. This movie was slow and really boring. 2010 was a fantastic year for movies and I thought this movie might be good but I was wrong really wrong.

Rating of
2/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 12/22/2012

Composes of a dreary pace, some over acting, laughable accents, lack of character development for an overloaded cast and a delirious plot that twists a classic and simple tale. Direction (coming from the ,am who directed Blade Runner, Gladiator, Black Hawk Down, American Gangster, etc), acting (Hurt, Blanchett and Crowe in tow) and locations were brilliant. Action-packed but dry and not as entertaining from the director's previous works.

Rating of
1.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 08/05/2011

Robin Hood felt like a movie you'd watch just to waste time because theres nothing else better on.When I 1st started watching it seemed like an alright movie but then it just went on & on & on.I noticed I kept pressing info on the remote just to find out how much more I had to watch before it was over

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 03/01/2011

An OK and often entertaining action adventure, but it can't decide whether it wants to be a historical drama about uprisings in England or an origin story that pays homage to past Robin Hood films. The Robin Hood stuff is sort of murky and boring, but the historical and political intrigue really shines.

Rating of
2/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 02/03/2011

Okay, so, here's the down-low for Ridley Scott's "Robin Hood." There are a great deal of items that can be considered positive, but as a whole, it was like a cheap revamp of "Gladiator." The characters were the same, the story was slightly altered for a swashbuckling tale, but it just seemed like Ridley Scott was attempting another form of his classic triumphs.

Rating of
1/4

jess - wrote on 10/02/2010

i was disappointed by this movie. i was expecting it to be like the kevin costner version but it was all different. some parts in the movie i couldn't understand what was happening. it was way to long and a lot of the scenes could have been cut out, because there was no point to some of them. i still think that kevin costners version will stay at the most memorable.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 06/10/2010

There were a lot of people who were disappointed with this movie. But, I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised by it. I liked how it was basically a prequel to all the other Robin Hood movies. It was very entertaining.

Rating of
1/4

Bob Stone - wrote on 05/25/2010

Ridley Scott's Robin Hood is terrible. There are too many charactesr,the plot is confusing, there are so many scenes where nothing happens, with people who we don't care about, parts are lifted straight from other movies and it's TOO DAMN LONG. I can go on and on.

Rating of
3.5/4

patjohnson76 - wrote on 05/19/2010

Another good pairing between Russell Crowe and Ridley Scott, this version of Robin Hood follows how Robin Hood became the man he is. Plenty of action scenes and a good use of art direction and costumes help add to a period film that delivers. My only complaint would be that the climactic action scene is pretty much over right after it begins, but overall, I liked it. It sets up nicely for a sequel but given those involved I doubt one would happen.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?