Ace Ventura: Pet Detective Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

RollTheBones - wrote on 02/22/2015

The extreme and insane humor of Carrey has never in my life failed to disappoint. This has to be my favorite one of his. I know a lot of people who don't like this film, but you have to at least laugh once.

Rating of
2.5/4

Gabe - wrote on 11/22/2013

Yes, it took me 19 years to see this film. I remember when the movie came out, the commercials, the one-liners, just like it was yesterday. Jim Carrey was a comedic genius who burnt out very early. Not great, but funny non-the-less.

Rating of
2.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 07/02/2012

I normally hate Jim Carrey, but this actually made me laugh quite a lot (to my shame!)

Rating of
1.5/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/21/2011

Sigh.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 09/15/2011

Not a great comedy, but most feel that it is. It stands as a showcase of Carrey's comedic brand. His antics manage to hold the film and supply some good laughs.

Rating of
2/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/13/2011

Kinda boring after you watch it a million times

Rating of
2/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 09/07/2011

A nice cast consisting of Courtney Cox, Sean Young and a then famous Tone Loc. Jim Carrey is Ace Ventura, a pet detective in search of a Dolphin. Its premise is unique, a few comedic moments and over the top acting which may have worked in that period of time. In my opinion, most scenes were just unrealistic. At least Carrey became involved with more mature roles such as Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and Truman Show. I felt that When Nature Calls was better.

Rating of
1/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 09/13/2010

The plot is wafer-thin and the gags are stale. The filmmakers rely on Carrey's rubber face to get laughs, but this gets annoying after awhile. Carrey has been much better when playing the oblivious, moronic type (Dumb and Dumber, for instance) and here, his shtick just feels forced.

Rating of
3.5/4

Judge - wrote on 05/12/2010

Funny movie. A real Jim Carrey classic. And the song by Tone Loc during the credits is good too.

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 02/15/2009

Not a bad movie. But, not exactly spectacular either.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?