Rope Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 04/15/2014

The story is about a group of men strangle one of their friends and hide him in a closet, then invite guest over to test how well they committed the crime - think they had achieved the perfect crime. Okay here I have to be honest about This movie and that is that the movie is slow and really boring, The acting is fine but the characters are forgettable and this is the worst Alfred Hitchcock film.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 01/05/2013

A standout in Hitchcock's filmography for it's unique choices in camerawork and editing. I think the 'gimmick' of presenting this film as one continuous take works effectively, becuase of the setting, characters and dialogue. It gives off the feeling of watching a play. The intrigue escalates, along with the tension, at the speed of a slow moving train. The wait isn't for a mystery to be solved, but for the cocky killers to be found out. 'Rope' is a taut verbal game of over self satisfaction.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/27/2011

There are times in this straightforward thriller in which the drama feels a little forced, as if Hitchcock is trying to wring every ounce of tension out of his cast, but that is to be expected from a drama that takes place in a single unbroken scene.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 05/24/2011

I thought there could've been more plot twists. In fact, the plot in general was a bit unbelievable. But, I did end up liking it.

Rating of
3/4

woody - wrote on 01/29/2011

Rope isn't one of my favorite movies; it's not even one of my favorite Hitchcock movies. But it is a favorite Jimmy Stewart performance. The rest of the cast is okay, not anything great. The movie suffers, I think, from the experiment Hitchcock undertook of having the entire movie appear to be one continuous camera shot. The effect was pulled off by having the camera come in close on someone's dark jacket (or some similar dark and undefined surface) at the end of each reel. The next reel started by moving out or away from the dark surface. I like the movie for Jimmy Stewart, despite its flaws.

Rating of
3/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 01/12/2010

Rope

Rating of
3.5/4

Alex - wrote on 01/04/2009

In my opinion, one of Hitchcock's best. Great dialog, good enough acting, and a surprising amount of suspense for the setting. It was very innovative the way it was shot and the backdrops behind them. It is like a play, but still great.

Rating of
0.5/4

Allison - wrote on 11/16/2007

An excercise in.....boring.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?