Bicycle Thieves ( Ladri di biciclette ) Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/07/2019

"The Bicycle Thieves" is quite depressing, but it's a masterpiece of neorealism.

Rating of
2.5/4

Gabe - wrote on 12/01/2014

I know it's sacrilege to give this filmy anything less than 3 stars, but that's what I did. There where just too many scenes that drug on. The cinematography is beautiful, and the acting is top notch, but it was just too long. It found like it took all day to find that damn bike, which was probably the point. You can't help but feeling for these people, they have nothing, but I think got the point before the movie ended. It's a great character study in fatherhood and trying to what's best for your family, even if you have to break the law to do it.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 10/07/2010

This film is, pure and simple, art. It's an emotional story that is presented in a very straightforward way, but that simplicity is what brings moments of true transcending connection to this film. For everyone who wasn't immediately born into wealth, it has moments of personal recollection and power.

Rating of
4/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 03/25/2010

Such a simple story, yet deeply emotional and brutally honest. A milestone of Italian cinema that continues to resonate in every age. Should be required viewing for anyone serious about film.

Rating of
4/4

sodapop - wrote on 02/07/2008

Perfection on celluloid. If you haven't watched it, or are even not much for foreign films then still do yourself the favor.

Rating of
3.5/4

Allison - wrote on 12/23/2007

It is a great movie, recommended to everyone. At times it's unnerving, but this movie represents not only the working man but Italian cinema at its most real.

Rating of
4/4

philly22 - wrote on 09/20/2007

To some people, a bike isn't just a bike...

Rating of
4/4

GGauthier - wrote on 08/28/2007

Finest neorrealism in italian cinema. A poor father that can't feed his son. A son that need to feed his own emotional needs and begins to be his father's fella in a very early age, because of the painfull social situation. Technically perfect and revolutionary, with an awesome script and perfect acting.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alex - wrote on 01/06/2007

This was a good movie. It had an element of care and surprise. I connected with the main character and I knew it was going to be an interesting story. Well done.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?