The 39 Steps Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 11/09/2012

The 39 Steps has a far lighter tone than most of Hitchcock's work and proves that he had a comic touch as well as being the master of suspense.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 07/30/2012

A fast, tight and entertaining thriller. I would have expected no less from Hitchcock. If you like 'North by Northwest', then seek out this classic immediately.

Rating of
3/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 11/26/2011

So much conversation in the film and chasing, its just confuses the plot. nothing really memorable comparing it to the director's other films. Characters suddenly get killed, more dragging moments and the conclusion felt rushed. The 39 Steps just didn't appeal to me right from the very start, but its journey and conclusion stands the test of time.

Rating of
2/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 06/25/2011

Founded on asinine logic and stilted acting, 'The 39 Steps' is not only non-predicative of the genius of it's director, but actually denigrative of him.

Rating of
4/4

woody - wrote on 01/28/2011

Don't think too much--just enjoy the twisty, turny ride. I'm so glad, after years of crappy, public-domain budget VHS versions of this, that I now own a beautiful Criterion DVD that makes the great story even better to watch.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/12/2010

An effective mystery that hasn't aged - the suspense and crescendoing tension that HItchcock creates so well is still as tight as ever.

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 01/21/2009

Classic Hitchcock. For a film made in the 30s, it holds up surprisingly well and shows that modern films would do well to remember the past, and how films should be made.

Rating of
3.5/4

Allison - wrote on 11/17/2007

Now we're talking.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?