Harold and Maude Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/26/2019

"For aesthetic appreciation, always a little time" - Maude. This quote from Ruth Gordon's eccentric lead character sums up the legacy of "Harold and Maude" perfectly. Originally receiving mixed feelings, there's not a single thing not to love about this avant-garde romantic comedy, with its Cat Stevens soundtrack and abundant amount of quirkiness that exceeds even the films of Wes Anderson.

Rating of
4/4

Camper - wrote on 08/17/2014

What a great movie. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn't this dark/charming romance. Harold and Maude is sweet, strange and at times very funny. It's perfect in its ridiculousness.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 07/06/2012

Unconventionally funny and sweet. The odd characters and mix of irreverent and morbid comedy are entertaining.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 11/04/2011

This is a weird and dark movie that will take some getting used to. However, under the surface of black comedy lies inspiring themes of love and living life to the fullest. The comic timing is such that, similar to the Graduate, the most awkward moments are also the funniest.

Rating of
4/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 07/06/2010

I laugh every time I watch this movie. It is so terrible dark and strange and uplifting. Really worth watch. If your a real sensitive soul I suppose it might be difficult for you. Ruth Gordon is terrific.

Rating of
3/4

GJ81 - wrote on 05/05/2009

Harold and Maude is a black comedy. One of the blackest, as the main character often pretends to commit suicide infront of his mother and potential dates. While attending other peoples funerals he strikes up a friendship with a rebellious old lady who lives life to the full. The pairing of these two is great, and the performances really shine. The soundtrack by Cat Stevens gives the films poignant moments a suitably pleasant hug. The gags are incredibly sharp and the script is slight but well written. The film meanders slightly as it nears its last scenes, but its definatly worth your time.

Rating of
1.5/4

Allison - wrote on 12/22/2007

I expected to like this, because I like this sort of thing. However, I must not like Hal Ashby or something, because it just didn't work for me!

Rating of
3/4

TheWolf - wrote on 12/21/2007

Harold and Maude is one of those obscure movies that not many people see, but almost every one who does loves it. A very clever film. If it doesn't make you think about your own life and your place in society, you may very possibly be clinically dead.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?