This is Spinal Tap Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/01/2019

"This is Spinal Tap" is the most defining movie in the mockumentary genre.

Rating of
3.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 04/05/2012

This Is Spinal Tap is a mock documentary and affectionate parody of heavy metal and its fans. To be honest, I suspect you have to be a metal fan to truly "get" it, but if you do, it's utterly hilarious! If you didn't know already it could be easily mistaken for the real thing; much of the dialogue was ad-libbed and it just captures the spirit of rock bands and the music biz perfectly. There are so many hilarious scenes I can't begin to count and it's the perfect movie to watch with a beer and a few like minded friends. Even the songs are comedy gold! I've seen this film over a dozen times and it still cracks me up EVERY time!

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/18/2011

This is the first and best of Christopher Guest's mockumentary films, lampooning the genre of rock documentary. It takes witty shots at the music industry, fame, fans, and rock music and also features some pretty catchy music of its own. Hilarious from start to finish, of the "Monty Python" variety.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/29/2011

A very clever and funny rock movie done in documentary style.

Rating of
4/4

woody - wrote on 01/27/2011

For a bizarre treat, watch this one back-to-back with Anthrax: The Story of Anthrax, an actual documentary that is often as wacky as Spinal Tap. This movie's my nominee for the most quotable movie ever made--but then, I'm an old musician. But my twenty-something daughter and her husband quote it just as often as I do, and over and over we all laugh together through the whole thing, just like it's our first time watching it..

Rating of
4/4

threeofspades - wrote on 04/30/2009

This movie is one of the funniest you will ever watch. If you dont want to crank everything up to 11 when you see this, please seek medical assistance.

Rating of
1/4

Tia Maria - wrote on 11/02/2008

Okay, I know, this is really pathetic, but I only found out this was a send off of the band half way through. And its not like i realized it myself, my dad walked in and told me LOL. pathetic. So I admit, I know absolutely nothing about this type of music. Nothing. So i think that if i had known maybe a LITTLE more about Spinal Tap then i would have enjoyed this movie more.

Rating of
3.5/4

serioussir - wrote on 05/09/2008

This is such a great movie. Guest and McKean are so funny as intellectually-challenged British rockers. Done as a documentary, it's truly genius.

Rating of
4/4

sodapop - wrote on 02/07/2008

How much more funny can this movie be? The answer is none. None more funny.

Rating of
3/4

Franz Patrick - wrote on 12/24/2007

This is a very amusing mockumentary, especially for a 1984 movie. The Stonehenge thing was bloody brilliant. I'm not going to describe all the funny moments because you'll just have to (and want to) see it for yourself.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?