The Third Man Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/30/2019

Astounding and unpredictable, "The Third Man" remains an influential bit of noir and espionage.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 02/23/2014

The mystery unfolds in a natural, subdued suspenseful manner. The main twist past the middle of the story is sort-of given away by the fact that Orsen Welles is the top billed actor. However, that doesn't ruin the outcome or the film's overall effect. This is a tightly wound thriller that entertains from beginning to end. Welles gives one of his most dark and memorable performances.

Rating of
2.5/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 01/31/2012

Writer Holly Martins (Joseph Cotten), a friend of Harry Lime (Orson Welles), sees Anna Schmidt (Alida Valli) to get some information about Lime’s death. Major Calloway (Trevor Howard) searches for evidences of the murder and questions Anna. Holly meets Harry in a secluded Ferris Wheel. The score was repetitive which makes you feel sleepy and the simple plot was not as engaging. Its conclusion was the best part of the film. The Third Man is a watchable mystery not even close to the brilliance of Citizen Kane.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/28/2011

A dark and inventive thriller that uses its noir cinematography to its advantage to create some iconic and memorable sequences. The tunnel chase scene, in particular, is a skillful blend of tension and artistry.

Rating of
2/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 04/08/2011

The only things that are organic about Karas’ atrocious zither compositions and Krasker's neophytic expressionist photography are their abettals in exposing this sup-par film noir as the exorbitantly stylised train wreck that it is.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 03/20/2011

I don't remember much about this movie. But, I do remember finding it enjoyable.

Rating of
2.5/4

GJ81 - wrote on 10/02/2009

I'm almost afraid to write this review as my opinion seems out of sync with the rest of the world. Don't get me wrong, this is a fine film, crafted well, and those lingering shadows look great......But, I COULD take my eyes off the screen, and for a film shouted from roofs, as a great classic of all time.......this shouldn't have happened. I just wasn't caught in its net. I'll appreciate it technically but consider me unentertained, and to the rest of the world. I'm sorry.

Rating of
4/4

Bratbud - wrote on 09/09/2008

First contact with Reed works satisfied me. Interesting at picture: noir, but in history is more complicated...

Rating of
4/4

The_Watchman - wrote on 03/03/2008

Fantastic film-noir, sporting awesome cinematography, tense performances, and top notch dialogue. Brilliant.

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 08/06/2007

Classic film noir that starts out slow, but continues to build up leading to an amazing cinematic chase scene in the sewers of Vienna. Joseph Cotten plays the reluctant hero with skill, and Welles is perfect as the shadowy "dead" man.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?