Stand by Me Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/09/2019

It's dark yet heart-warming, one of the best Stephen King adaptations.

Rating of
3.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 02/18/2014

A group of young friends go on a journey from their home town to try to discover the missing body of a young boy as they encounter real life problems - they put their maturity to the test. This movie was touching and enjoyable to watch.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/27/2012

Using a believable young cast, this is the quintessential coming of age tale of the 80's. The film captures the rough-around-the-edges nature of childhood friendship and manages to deal with adult themes through the eyes of children. The film has a certain dark humor to it, but the more poignant scenes land hard. A reminder of the greatness that was the late great River Phoenix also, who is fantastic in one of his first roles.

Rating of
3/4

marcocl12 - wrote on 12/03/2011

Great movie with a big message. Shows the times when friends were the number one priority in life.

Rating of
4/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/22/2011

A classic that NEVER gets old

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/01/2010

Should be mandatory viewing for all 12-13 yr old boys. Glad I got to grow up with this one.

Rating of
N/A

TheHitchcockAffair - wrote on 11/11/2010

Here is the definitive coming-of-age classic! 'Stand by Me' is so much more than a friendship story. It covers the ranging emotions of death in general. It tastefully examines self-image issues. And it shines a spotlight on the power of taking risk. I really liked the chemistry between River Pheonix and Will Wheaton. They fed off eachother's energy brilliantly. Rob Reiner's direction is sharp and memorable. If you appreciate Stephen King, and you enjoy stories of 'troubled innocence', SEE 'Stand by Me'! A-

Rating of
4/4

The Film Rebel - wrote on 08/19/2010

The perfect portrayal of boyhood and what it means to grow up and leave everything behind. As we watch the film we see the evolution and development each character goes through. Anyone who's ever had a childhood can relate to this. Quite possibly the best coming of age story.

Rating of
4/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 07/28/2010

Stand by Me is one of my favorites. Its just really well written and really well acted by the young cast. I really recommend this great movie about growing up to everyone. I don't think there is anything not to like about this movie.

Rating of
3.5/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 04/06/2010

A beautiful, thought-provoking film that brings about the wonderous and terrifying world of finding yourself.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?