The Sound of Music Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/17/2014

The story is about a young woman travels from home town in Austria to become a maid/nanny for a widowed naval officer. She teaches his children how to sing and enjoy life better. Musical. This is what you call a musical classic, because the sound of music works on characters and well the songs itself.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/20/2011

Is it really all about do re mi? All film buffs must see it or they don't get a membership card and special hat.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/29/2011

Fantastic musical. Every song is memorable.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 10/26/2011

Another classic musical that manages to be about more than singing and dancing. Julie Andrews gives one of her best performances here and Christopher Plummer is equally good as the austere and commanding Captain Von Trapp.

Rating of
2/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 04/08/2011

I generally despise musicals... and this one is no exception. The cinematography may be impressive, but frankly the acting is terrible (I don't know where Christopher Plummer got the idea that he was supposed to play a piece of timber) and the script is in need of a merciless trim. It certainly doesn't help that the whole story is essentially a rehash of 'The King & I' (though, admittedly, that is more the fault of Rodgers and Hammerstein).

Rating of
4/4

phantom - wrote on 02/08/2010

I watch it every time its on TV. I also sing along (don't judge) whenever i watch it I'm instantly transported to my childhood, watching it every year with my family. The songs are catchy and some of them insiring, Climb Every Mountain still gets me.

Rating of
3.5/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 11/04/2009

The Sound of Music is a classic musical, plus its based on a true story, plus it has tension because no one wants the Nazis to win or kill adorable singing children. A great traditional format musical that really should be seen by people who love musicals and classic movies.

Rating of
3/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 08/08/2009

"The Sound of Music," winning 5 Academy Awards and dozens of others is a classic film that brings together some of the most beautiful music by Oscar and Hammerstein as well as some of the best storytelling, acting, and cinematography ever created. I remember watching this movie as a family and realizing how terrifying life can be while at the same time understanding how beautiful the world is. A treat that all families should watch together.

Rating of
3/4

GJ81 - wrote on 05/10/2009

Some of the most beautiful scenic shots open this movie, then Julie Andrews strides up the hill, does a little turn and the rest is history. Director Robert Wise is one of the most under-rated filmmakers that ever were and The Sound of Music is just great. Some musical numbers are better than others but all the tunes are instantly catchy, and the actors are typically jovial and funny, despite the films perhaps too long - length.

Rating of
3/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 05/06/2009

A musical with some good songs, good signing and some good settings. The story is nothing special although better than some musical's stories. I liked as the enjoyable musical it was trying to be and it succeeded at that. It was not overly special as some people seem to think it is but it is good at what it is trying to do.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?