Shoot 'Em Up Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Indyfreak - wrote on 07/23/2018

Uber violent and over the top action thriller with Clive Owen shooting his way through hired killers to protect a newborn. Monica Bellucci plays a hooker (nice) and Paul Giamatti is the principal heavy (also nice). It's a little too flashy for its own good but it's short. So it doesn't overstay its welcome.

Rating of
2.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/14/2011

A cartoony action movie that features a variety of elaborate, stylized, and outrageous action sequences, but little else in the way of characters or themes. It's watchable and sometimes entertaining, but, ultimately, leaves you with an empty feeling and the action is too far-fetched to be believable.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alex - wrote on 10/30/2010

Not a good movie by any means but at least it knows what it is. It is fun and is for true action fans only. A ton of B.S. and a fast paced environment make this movie ok. Nothing new here though.

Rating of
2/4

CJP - wrote on 09/18/2008

Action: 3 / 3, Comedy: 0.5 / 2, Good vs Evil: 1 / 1, Love/Sex: 1 / 1, Special Effects: 1 / 1, Plot: 0 / 1, Music: 0 / 1 = 65% or 6.5 / 10, which is 2 / 4 stars. A pure tribute to action sequences so turn off the brain and enjoy the rollercoaster!

Rating of
2.5/4

goodfellamike - wrote on 09/12/2008

I want to rate this higher, but my conscience won't allow it; it's an intense balls-to-the-wall action extravaganza, but it just doesn't make any sense, has a lame sense of humor and lives in a universe of its own rules (which just doesn't work for me). At best, it certainly doesn't waste any time. Final Grade: C+

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 08/14/2008

This is about as straight-forward and guns blazing as movies get. It's over-the-top violent action with lots of tongue-in-cheek humor and funny one-liners. I had a blast.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 08/03/2008

Those who like over-the-top action, bullets flying constantly and blood by the gallons will enjoy Shoot 'Em Up. Plus the ironic twist of gun control is not lost on me. It's also fun to see Paul Giamatti play a truly despicable character.

Rating of
2.5/4

Josh C - wrote on 04/20/2008

Highly entertaining and fun to watch. It is such a fast paced movie it is no wonder it is only 86 minutes long, and it feels even shorter. Most of the movie was so unbelievable that there were several times where I was in utter disbelief because none of the stunts could ever happen. But this didn't really detract from me enjoying the film, it just made it feel more like the old Action films where the bad guys had terrible aim and the heroes never have to reload. There really isn't much substance to the film, but it is called "Shoot 'Em Up" so if you are going to watch it for a great plot you want to have your self checked out anyhow. Clive Owen gives Jason Statham (Transporter) a good run for his money as a crazy action star.

Rating of
4/4

BryanFury - wrote on 01/13/2008

I never would have thought carrots are that deadly. Three things made this movie shine, one the excessive use of guns, two Clive Owen's performance and three the use of carrots in an action sequence. This was like kill bill, the only difference was guns was used instead of a samurai sword.

Rating of
3.5/4

Allison - wrote on 09/07/2007

Going into the movie knowing nothing but that the actors were good, it was a pleasant surprise. There is tons of action, a kinda interesting plot, and a bad guy (Paul Giamatti) who gets phone calls from his wife the whole entire movie. The death defying pace leaves you reeling (in a good way) and the one-liners are good for the most part. I try not to scream when scary and terrible things happen in the movies, but I couldn't help it throughout the entire movie. This movie felt like a roller coaster ride. Not for children though. It had a couple of gross hooker moments and (spoiler, my only spoiler) the bad guy kinda gazed longingly at a dead body of this chick...a creepy necrophiliac moment. I don't know what that was about!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?