Requiem for a Dream Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/26/2019

With dark and unsettling imagery, "Requiem for a Dream" will get to you one way or another.

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 05/21/2016

This is why I don't do drugs.

Rating of
4/4

Camper - wrote on 07/03/2013

A very intense, extremely sad story, or rather, two stories. I found the mother's downward spiral the hardest to witness, hearing her talk about how she was going to be on television became strangely disturbing and heartbreaking. All of these characters lives' are so tightly wound around drugs that eventually the binding had to snap or they had to.

Rating of
3.5/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

With a unique visual style and some amazing performances, Requiem manages to be one of the most effective films about drug addiction ever. Ellen Burstyn gives a stunning performance, and Jennifer Connelly is also really good. Right from the start you get the sense that the film will end horribly for these characters, but predictability aside, the film delivers a powerhouse conclusion that left me completely wrecked upon watching it. Disturbing, depressing, hopeless, and unforgettable, Requiem for a Dream is a really good little film from Darren Aronofsky.

Rating of
4/4

Ivana - wrote on 05/09/2013

A very deep film, where those character can't support their life's so, they try to survive with drugs. At the beginning it could be an escape but then, they couldn't escape of drugs. The acting and music were amazing.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 03/27/2012

Requiem for a Dream is a haunting and visually powerful portrayal of the depths of drug addiction and paranoia. The film is heartbreaking and tough to watch, but one of the clearest portraits of the dangers of drug use out there and its message is backed up by brilliant directing and acting.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/14/2011

Lasting visuals and rapid editing combine to tell a harsh and depressing story of four peoples' lives that have been torn apart by their addictions. The four actors are tremendous and the film is one that is not easily forgotten. The musical score is absolutely perfect.

Rating of
4/4

☠ kyrstin. ♒ - wrote on 06/14/2011

I very rarely use this term to describe films because I am so picky...I try to avoid sounding over-dramatic. Here it goes: this film to me, was artistic. Very expressive. Very unique and interesting, although using a cliche message (drugs are bad), it's the delivery, the acting, the punch to the gut that this film gives its viewer that sets it apart from the rest-- making it anything but cliche. Highly recommended, although, I wouldn't watch if you're easily depressed or have some sort of trauma relating to drug abuse or addiction.

Rating of
4/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

A brutal look at the monster Addiction and how it degrades a human being. It blew me away. Not for the faint of heart. I have never seen a performance as raw as Ellen Burstyn's. Unbelievably visceral.

Rating of
4/4

gideon43 - wrote on 05/26/2010

The excellent film magazine, Empire recently ran an article on "The 10 Most Depressing Films Of All Time" of which Requiem For A Dream was one. It would be very, very difficult to dispute this and I have no intentions of doing so, this is definitely not a "Feel good" Movie. Visually, though, Requiem is an astonishing achievement offering a kaleidoscope of vivid ideas and stylized images. Disturbing, haunting and truly terrifying, this is a film, which pulls no punches chronicling the devastating effects of addiction on four individuals. Truly wonderful acting, especially from Ellen Burstyn and a peircing score that will live with you for days, Requiem is an impressive tale of self destruction, difficult to watch, yet hard to ignore.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?