Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Requiem for a Dream (2000) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Requiem for a Dream (2000) DVD from AmazonBuy Requiem for a Dream (2000) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 18 

Matthew Brady 05/21/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is why I don't do drugs.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Camper 07/03/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A very intense, extremely sad story, or rather, two stories. I found the mother's downward spiral the hardest to witness, hearing her talk about how she was going to be on television became strangely disturbing and heartbreaking. All of these characters lives' are so tightly wound around drugs that eventually the binding had to snap or they had to.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

With a unique visual style and some amazing performances, Requiem manages to be one of the most effective films about drug addiction ever. Ellen Burstyn gives a stunning performance, and Jennifer Connelly is also really good. Right from the start you get the sense that the film will end horribly for these characters, but predictability aside, the film delivers a powerhouse conclusion that left me completely wrecked upon watching it. Disturbing, depressing, hopeless, and unforgettable, Requiem for a Dream is a really good little film from Darren Aronofsky.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ivana 05/09/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A very deep film, where those character can't support their life's so, they try to survive with drugs. At the beginning it could be an escape but then, they couldn't escape of drugs. The acting and music were amazing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 03/27/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Requiem for a Dream is a haunting and visually powerful portrayal of the depths of drug addiction and paranoia. The film is heartbreaking and tough to watch, but one of the clearest portraits of the dangers of drug use out there and its message is backed up by brilliant directing and acting.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/14/2011 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Lasting visuals and rapid editing combine to tell a harsh and depressing story of four peoples' lives that have been torn apart by their addictions. The four actors are tremendous and the film is one that is not easily forgotten. The musical score is absolutely perfect.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

☠ kyrstin. ♒ 06/14/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I very rarely use this term to describe films because I am so picky...I try to avoid sounding over-dramatic. Here it goes: this film to me, was artistic. Very expressive. Very unique and interesting, although using a cliche message (drugs are bad), it's the delivery, the acting, the punch to the gut that this film gives its viewer that sets it apart from the rest-- making it anything but cliche. Highly recommended, although, I wouldn't watch if you're easily depressed or have some sort of trauma relating to drug abuse or addiction.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A brutal look at the monster Addiction and how it degrades a human being. It blew me away. Not for the faint of heart. I have never seen a performance as raw as Ellen Burstyn's. Unbelievably visceral.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 05/26/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The excellent film magazine, Empire recently ran an article on "The 10 Most Depressing Films Of All Time" of which Requiem For A Dream was one. It would be very, very difficult to dispute this and I have no intentions of doing so, this is definitely not a "Feel good" Movie. Visually, though, Requiem is an astonishing achievement offering a kaleidoscope of vivid ideas and stylized images. Disturbing, haunting and truly terrifying, this is a film, which pulls no punches chronicling the devastating effects of addiction on four individuals. Truly wonderful acting, especially from Ellen Burstyn and a peircing score that will live with you for days, Requiem is an impressive tale of self destruction, difficult to watch, yet hard to ignore.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 01/30/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I thought this movie was excellent. Beware though, the ending is a little twisted.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Ben
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Movies I Want To See Again by Rod
2014 Rated & Ranked by Chris Kavan
Book Adaptations by Zeljka
My Wish List by hoods_breath
To see: Golden Globe Best Pitcure Winners by Alex

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy