Rebecca Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/27/2019

A dark mystery drama full of obsession and suspense and an early success for Alfred Hitchcock.

Rating of
2.5/4

Gabe - wrote on 04/17/2015

I was just expecting more from Hitchcock. The acting is great as is the cinematography, but the I found the story to be dull and slow. I don't know how this film beat out The Philadelphia Story for best picture. Hitchcock would get better and more suspenseful. This is a film that all should see, not because it's great, but of the historical significance.

Rating of
4/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/25/2014

A masterpiece. My favorite Hitchcock film...Joan Fontaine is stunning.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/21/2011

The heaviness that permeates this Hitchcock thriller occasionally becomes almost too dark and depressing, but, when it succeeds, this noir thriller really succeeds. Great early Hitchcock that is atmospheric and moody.

Rating of
4/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 02/09/2009

Rebecca is simply a terrific film, that creates a brilliant mysterious atmosphere. It keeps its mystery interesting, and incredibly effective, especially in the last act when the revelations are incredibly satisfying. The performances are great all around from the terrific leads of Olivier and Fontaine, to the excellent supporting players of Sanders and Anderson. All the performances add wonders to the film, which is an effective outstanding understated film from Alfred Hitchcock.

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 03/22/2008

Hitchcock's first Hollywood film is one of his best. The presence and influence of the deceased former wife, Rebecca, is like a heavy mist that permeates the film. This has a profound effect on each character, until the truth comes out.

Rating of
1/4

Allison - wrote on 12/23/2007

Unfortunately, the book was much better. I love Hitch but he messed up several key scenes. At least it was responsible for him coming over to America.

Rating of
4/4

GGauthier - wrote on 09/07/2007

I like better the artsy and sutile Hitchock (Notorious, Vertigo, Rebecca) Than the mainstream one (Psycho, NbyN). The movie is and adaption from a novel, and contains beautiful shots and great acting. The story as usual, is intriguing and keeps you watching until the end, quite excited. It switches from time to time with the previous mentioned films in my rank.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alex - wrote on 12/19/2006

Not Hitchcock?s best....and not quite worthy. Close!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?