Pleasantville Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/25/2019

"Pleasantville" finds its voice with its fantasy premise, low-key satire, and societal message about progressivism.

Rating of
3/4

Indyfreak - wrote on 09/05/2018

Warm and genial fantasy comedy.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/19/2012

A fun drama that deals with interesting coming of age themes, set amid a "Leave it to Beaver" 50's town. The film's use of color, while obvious, works extremely well, as do two strong performances from Maguire and Witherspoon.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/22/2011

Interesting fantasy concept that uses it's story to stretch farther into shared human ideas and emotions, all while delivering some smart satire. There is a lot going on here and the majority of it works. I find new reasons to appreciate this film every time I revisit it.

Rating of
4/4

Jenna - wrote on 08/11/2011

I think this is one of those films that is light and playful, but also a bit dark and profound. It really satisfies and holds your attention from start to finish. Tobey Maguire and Reese Witherspoon are delightful, as are Joan Allen (the most captivating of the characters), and Jeff Daniels. It certainly holds it's place amongst films that are brilliant and eye opening. It reminded me of a couple of books I read in school; The Giver and A Wrinkle in Time. It's an original in every sense of the word and one that doesn't get old.

Rating of
4/4

Armando Sanchez - wrote on 02/10/2011

as far as I can remember,I used to love this film as a kid.and I still do.Tobey Maguire and Reese Witherspon are perfect and funny together.all I can say about this film is that it's a classic and will live on for the next generation to come.

Rating of
4/4

frenchfreyteetor - wrote on 04/13/2010

One of my absolute favorite movies. What's better a life of innocents or a life of fulfillment and passion. This movie really make you think about it in a fun and interesting way.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 11/10/2008

I rated it a 3. But, it's very close to a 3.5. It's a great movie. The message it sends is an important one. It tells people to just be themselves.

Rating of
1/4

Allison - wrote on 12/21/2007

I really thought it was stupid and dare I say untrue to life. Of course it couldn't happen, but I didn't think the characters were true.

Rating of
2.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 08/03/2007

It has the right idea, and some great visual effects, but it gets too overly-sentimental and mushy for my taste. The best parts of the film are black and white, but when the color starts coming in, the sickly sweetness creeps in with it.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?