On the Waterfront Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/28/2019

Giving possibly the greatest acting performance in cinema history, Marlon Brando undoubtedly made this movie a classic.

Rating of
4/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/21/2018

Breathtaking moral study; an aggressive thunderbolt to the senses with heart-touching undertones of character study and influential layers of crime shown with style and clearly established purposes. Scorsese is very grateful to Kazan's glorious achievement; the Academy miraculously understood the point of the movie. (Clap clap clap) 97/100

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 07/07/2012

Good script and acting. The characters face some moral decisions that still make you ponder, even if they aren't relevant now.

Rating of
4/4

patjohnson76 - wrote on 10/29/2011

A great film, helped out by great performances from Brando, Saint, and Malden (actually, the whole cast is pretty strong). The politics and plot are pretty dated for today's time, but regardless, the film still holds up well 50-plus years later. The film features some classic lines and scenes that are still powerful today. Definitely should be watched for the career making performances of Brando and Saint.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 09/07/2011

Despite some dated social concepts, the film is worth watching for Marlon Brando's powerhouse performance - a true acting clinic. His performance captures attention and will never diminish with age, as it is most certainly his best work.

Rating of
4/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 02/21/2010

A truly brilliant masterpiece of a film. I cannot explain how good this movie is. The story is emotionally powerful and interesting. The atmosphere of the directing really gives a look into the lives of the longshoremen. The haunting score by Leonard Bernstein works so well and is effective in every scene. And of course the acting is some the greatest seen on film, not just Brando but the brilliant supporting cast especially Rod Steiger and Karl Malden. The film is great throughout and builds to a fantastic climax. Some are bothered by the message but I do not see why. The film is anti corruption not unions that is incredibly clear, and it is brave to testify if the parties are guilty.

Rating of
3/4

GJ81 - wrote on 08/21/2009

I'd read the hype around Brando in this film and the film itself, and for the most part I do agree. There are several brilliant moments, most of them dialogue or character tics coming from Brando himself. He does have a great screen presence as does Eva Marie Saint, but unfortunatly its the story that suffers. Its sets off at a slow pace and doesn't pick up until the final half hour, and I didn't think there was enough character and intrigue going on to keep it all interesting. So it's great, but maybe not rewatchable great.

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 08/10/2009

I really thought that I was going to love this movie. But, I just didn't. Perhaps it was the political theme that bothered me.

Rating of
2.5/4

Freddie - wrote on 05/15/2009

This movie is dated and so it was hard to deal with it at times, but it was a good story.

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 04/12/2007

You can tell this film is over 50 years old now, but it still holds some of the most powerful performances on film. Marlon Brando is at his prime here - a film classic no one should pass up.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?