The Last of the Mohicans Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2/4

Snoogans - wrote on 10/19/2015

For this being a war-time period piece directed by Michael Mann, I expected a lot more. It's easily watchable, but never too engaging.

Rating of
2/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 06/24/2012

For a story based on a classic novel, I was expecting a hell of a lot more plot. It's nicely filmed and decently performed, but it seemed more than a little inconsequential and vacuous. It passes a sunday afternoon inoffensively enough though.

Rating of
3/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 05/16/2012

The action sequences and locations were gorgeous. Soundtrack distracts the dialogue throughout the film. Visually this is an impressive film however it falters with regards to the pace of the story and plot structure. Daniel Day-Lewis always impresses with his stellar performance. Its final scenes were heart wrenching and touching at the same time. The Last of the Mohican’s is a fantasy period film with loads of action and drama.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 01/18/2012

This is a superb adaptation of an already powerful book. Daniel Day-Lewis continues his string of strong performances and director Michael Mann balances real characters with beautiful panoramic scenery and intense battle scenes.

Rating of
4/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/09/2011

When movies do literature they should bring it to life. This did a good job. The music and visuals were breathtaking.

Rating of
0.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/22/2011

SnoooooooooZe.Its over??? YAAAAY!!!!

Rating of
1.5/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/02/2011

The score will floor you, but I was left underwhelmed by everything else. And there's a mercy-killing.

Rating of
3/4

jameswharper - wrote on 11/08/2009

Entertaining and old-fashioned romance that left me pretty cold despite much to recommend it. Like other 'modern epics' (the far inferior The Last Samurai or the superior Cold Mountain) the narrative momentum is never really established.

Rating of
3/4

Bob Stone - wrote on 03/02/2009

Worth seeing if only for the riveting action sequences.

Rating of
3.5/4

sapien - wrote on 11/09/2008

An excellent movie from beginning to end. And, the ending is amazing. It always stirs my soul to watch Wes Studi fight and kill the brother, and then fight and be killed by the father. It's a thrilling scene.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?