Jaws Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/22/2018

Witnessing in the 70s and 80s how Spielberg and Lucas redefined Blockbuster filmmaking and still be alive to tell it must be a lucky achievement. Sure, Spielberg is creating a new fear and establishing his great (early) directorial skills through Jaws, certainly not his best film and not as scary for today's gore-filled movie-goers, but brilliance is brilliance. Williams does nothing more than increasing the atmosphere of this terrific classic. 93/100

Rating of
3/4

lboyd - wrote on 07/15/2017

I saw this movie recently and though I've heard a lot about this movie before, today I watched it only because I saw that the director of the movie is Steven Spielberg and hence expected at least an above average experience. And after watching it, I can say that Mr Spielberg really has lived upto the expectations his name has built. A very nice movie of it's time, one of the classics and other than being a real entertainer taught me a thing or two about oceans.

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/26/2013

"favorite movie of all time". people say the water is safe or is it?.nthis movie was one of the best shark movie of all time.good score and good directing by Steven Spielberg.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/10/2013

Jaws is likely the film that put Spielberg on the map as the creative auteur he is. The film not only creates a compelling cast of human characters, but displays masterful subtlety in the way it builds tension around its movie monster. There are no outrageous action scenes and, save for a few shots, the shark isn't even shown in full, and, yet, the film is a nonstop fearfest of gripping tension and suspense. Great stuff and definitely one of Spielberg's best films.

Rating of
3/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/06/2012

A movie that has made generations of kids and adults second guess what is beneath them when going into ocean waters. The film captured the fear and emotions necessary to pull of a good animal attack movie. This is a classic and will go down in history as one of the best Nature Horror movies of all time. Now if only people would stop piggy backing with movies like Shark Night and Pirahnnas 3D.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/02/2011

'Jaws' is exactly the classic that it is known for being. It delivers great suspense and memorable characters, amidst a somewhat believable situation. An infinitely entertaining film.

Rating of
4/4

The Film Rebel - wrote on 10/12/2010

The odd thing about this movie is that its slow, and yet it uses that to its advantage. It helps build suspense and it really works well. All in all, one of the greatest films of all time.

Rating of
2/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 04/06/2010

The original blockbuster, the film is one of those that I never really got into, but still enjoy watching on occasion.

Rating of
4/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 10/20/2009

So, the special effects may not completely stand the test of time . . . however the great thing about Jaws is that the story is so great and creepy you don't need great special effects. The story scares you not the animatronic shark. A real must see movie for movie lovers.

Rating of
2.5/4

BmovieJosh - wrote on 09/25/2009

I used to love this film a lot more, but I have seen it way too many times. It is my entire familes favorite film I think, haha. I still respect it though. That's why I put it on my list. Great music and cover art. Good film.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?