The Iron Giant Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/30/2019

An animated film that hones in on the silver screen and child-like wonders reminiscent of the classics of Steven Spielberg, "The Iron Giant" didn't deserve to be such a box office disappointment.

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 04/12/2014

The story is about a giant alien robot falls into a small Maine town in 1958. A 9-year-old boy becomes fast friends with the machine, but soon the government arrives with the intent to destroy the machine at any cost. This movie was heartwarming and the animation was amazing and colorful to look at.

Rating of
3.5/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/07/2012

A fabulous movie about a boys friendship with an alien creature. The themes include acceptance of difference. I loved it as a child as do I now when watching with my 7yr old who loved it as well. This is a must-see.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 03/15/2012

A pre-Pixar Brad Bird directs this heartfelt exploration of growing up. The film features some inspired voice performances and an emotional tale that doesn't get drowned out by the later action sequences. Inventive and wonderful sci-fi, in the vein of Close Encounters or E.T.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/20/2011

Has the right mix of everything that makes a good animated flick. Enjoyable for all ages.

Rating of
4/4

Arek - wrote on 09/29/2008

Surprisingly heartfelt and compelling. The movie takes place at the height of the cold-war era, when fear and mistrust rule the day. In stark contrast to the sense of unease at Russia's Sputnik launch, a young boy befriends a metal titan from the unknown. I have a lot of respect for a children's movie that does not dumb itself down just because it is marketed at kids. It's a shame the studio pretty much abandoned this movie (due to internal problems) as soon as it was released, or I would have fully expected it to be a major hit.

Rating of
4/4

sberk44 - wrote on 12/26/2007

Masterpiece! Grab you Kleenex.

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 07/20/2007

Probably one of the most underrated animated films. Iron Giant has a lot more going on than most live-action films I can think of, and a lot better message as well. Everyone should make it a point to see this film.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?