Dr. Seuss' Horton Hears a Who! Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Hurricane2000 - wrote on 01/28/2020

Best Seuss Adaptation To Date After the hilariocity that was 2003’s The Cat In The Hat, It seemed Dr. Seuss was cursed in terms of film. But Blue Sky’s adaptation of Horton Hears A Who! is exactly what a Dr, Seuss adaptation should be with the cartoony animation, Rhymes, And wackiness of the world both animal and Who. Not to mention the fantastic humor, Breathtaking animation of the water, flowers, trees, and grass. Overall, you’ll be very happy with this film. Rating: Fresh

Rating of
2.5/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 01/08/2013

This was a very bland and unimaginative film. It seems as though it is very hard to get Dr. Seuss on the big screen with much success. Have your kids watch it if it is on. I really wouldn't even run to the video store to rent this one for the family.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/06/2011

Surprisingly more magical and charming than I expected. This does justice visually to the Dr. Seuss style more than any other Seuss-based film I have seen.

Rating of
2.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 07/13/2009

While it didn't blow me away, this is much better than the horrid live-action Suess movies that have come out. The voices are well-cast, the animation is smooth (including a great faux-anime insert) and it was enjoyable.

Rating of
4/4

Dana - wrote on 04/23/2009

Jimmy and Steve did very well on this. This movie was too funny. The people that did the voices for the characters...brilliant. Hilarious. I was actually brought to tears from laughing. The elephant( horton) is is the funny, cute and really sets the movie. Grab the kids and even the adults go get it and watch it..pull out the popcorn and be ready to buss out laughing.

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 10/02/2008

Brilliance, opulence, hilarity. I absolutely loved "Horton Hears A Who." I didn't expect too much when I went in to see it, but left with a great feeling of joy and happiness. Its not often when a film can make me feel like I'm capable of doing anything. The Dr. Seuss book, though stretched to fit the time, was amazingly hilarious. There were so many hilarious background gags as well as some of the best writing in animation history. Steve Carell and Jim Carrey, though not exactly connected to each other in the film as far as scenes go, carried the story very well. Carol Burnett is the perfect comedic villain and Seth Rogen is awesome when he's a side-character. I would recommend this movie to everyone!

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 10/02/2008

Brilliance, opulence, hilarity. I absolutely loved "Horton Hears A Who." I didn't expect too much when I went in to see it, but left with a great feeling of joy and happiness. Its not often when a film can make me feel like I'm capable of doing anything. The Dr. Seuss book, though stretched to fit the time, was amazingly hilarious. There were so many hilarious background gags as well as some of the best writing in animation history. Steve Carell and Jim Carrey, though not exactly connected to each other in the film as far as scenes go, carried the story very well. Carol Burnett is the perfect comedic villain and Seth Rogen is awesome when he's a side-character. I would recommend this movie to everyone!

Rating of
2/4

Tino - wrote on 05/16/2008

Horton Hears a Who is a very simple family comedy, from the classic Seuss book. It is a short story, the same as The Grinch, and Cat in the Hat, and is being exploded into a full-length motion picture. Material is strained as it is stretched incredibly tightly, mixed with obvious filler non-sense. It can be good, but also can be flat out stupid. This would've been much better if the writers had come up with some material that was more fit for the entire family, and not just the infants, toddlers, and incredibly young children this so obviously points its demographic to.

Rating of
3/4

Josh C - wrote on 04/06/2008

It delivered what I expected: a pretty funny, beautifully animated, children's movie. The humor was entirely geared to smaller children and not adults like "Finding Nemo" and "IceAge", but it still had its moments that made me glad I went to see it. I grew up loving Dr. Seuss and can't help but think I am fairly biased because of that. Still, I feel that even if you never read the book, or even Dr. Seuss, you will like this movie if you like animated films. There are better animated films out there, but this one will not disappoint so check it out.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?