Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

High Noon (1952) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy High Noon (1952) DVD from AmazonBuy High Noon (1952) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

SteelCity99 04/21/2018 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Gary Cooper as Will Kane provided much more influence than popular opinion allowed the world to admit. He plays the absolute macho type submerged in a dangerous environment of threats, a cold but sexy romance and put in a context in which he is still forced to be capable of realizing morality (what is good and what is wrong). High Noon, specifically, marks the beginning of a new era for westerns, including John Ford (you can see a big difference in substance and aim from Stagecoach [1936] to The Searchers [1956]) and the worshiped Sergio Leone. For that, this blast of a movie deserves its useless Academy Awards, its high regard and even more. 97/100

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 02/11/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Simple, straight-forward western that spends the first hour basically setting up it's climax. The whole idea of one man reclaiming his sheriff duties to singlehandedly defend his town, in one last final stand, is commendable. The final shoot-out is worth the wait.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 11/09/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Seminal western as Gary Cooper's heroic sheriff finds himself short of friends amongst the good townsfolk he has dedicated his life to protect when a murderous gang head towards town. The tension mounts as the clock ticks down in real time to their imminent and bloody showdown.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 11/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A classic that somewhat holds up today. Cooper and Kelly stand out in a strong cast and the story gets going right away. I'll admit, however, that the payoff at the end was a little disappointing, given the long build-up. It'd be easy to see someone give up halfway through. I did enjoy this classic western, though I have to admit my mind drifted a bit at times and I'd have to force my attention back.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 10/17/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Usually I dont like Westerns that are B/W but this was pretty good

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 09/05/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A fantastic Western that uses pacing to create an overwhelming sense of foreboding. Gary Cooper does not give his best performance here, but delivers most of his lines with adequate gravity. The real gem for me is the colorful supporting performances peppered throughout the film that either add or detract from Cooper's sheriff's mission.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 01/18/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A true classic western, no doubt about it. It's an excellent movie!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 12/22/2006 (0 of 3 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I don't remember much about this movie other than it was slow, crappy sound, and not a lot of fun to watch. With a crisper version and more patience I think it could be good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Action Movies by Rod
Top Films of 2015 by Neobowler
Favorites of 2018 by Austin Shagwell
Best films of 1996 by Daniel
Top Movie List by Melanie
Top Movie List by Cinemaniac
My favourites by Miroslav
Zombie/Zombie-like Movies by Stoney McStonerson

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy