The Great Escape Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 01/01/2013

John Sturges directs one of the quintessential war films - a movie that juggles a large cast of characters, while still giving them all memorable screentime. The film tells a true story without pulling any punches and doesn't replace a brilliant combination of triumph and melancholy with a Hollywood ending. The score and cinematography are beautiful and serve to underline the action, but the talented, multifaceted cast is the real attraction here.

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 10/28/2011

'The Great Escape' is simply a great film. McQueen's best by far.

Rating of
4/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 06/06/2011

I was thankful that this movie still held up on its second viewing years later. Still a mandatory guy movie. However, it is still LONG, and the second time around you begin to notice all the little things that could have been cut. But then the fun of the escape would have been over sooner...

Rating of
4/4

gideon43 - wrote on 05/30/2010

Forever one of the Great War Movies, The Great Escape refrains from all preaching and any political undertones. It is on any terms pure escapism. Boasting an unbelievably good cast, a brilliantly written screenplay and an unforgettable score (as England Football fans will testify) this is a movie that redefines "cool". Surprisingly accurate to the true story (although obviously a few liberties were taken), the Great Escape never fails to astound and entertain however many times you watch it. Successfully blending Humor, tension and great drama, the Great Escape is ultimately tragic but its overall effect is uplifting and enticing.

Rating of
4/4

Hush - wrote on 04/30/2010

I first saw this movie as a kid with my dad and really liked it. I grew up buying it on vhs, laserdisc and dvd. I have never stopped loving this all time great. With a great cast of actors. A virtual who's who of allied forces in this movie. The story of allied forces in a WW2 POW camp is the backdrop. They manage to band together and form a plan to escape where they plan to ALL go together. A little more light could have been shed on the character of X played by Attenborough. I would have to say the best parts of this movie may not be the escape scenes but rather the many lines of guy humor or inside jokes that seem to last long after the movie has ended. A true classic that must be in the top 10.

Rating of
4/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 02/25/2009

Great escape works both as a procedural it terms of showing of the little details in the escape preparations then as a escape picture which it works equally well as. My only problem with it though is Steve McQueen goes a bit far with the motorcycle stuff to the point of unrealistic. Yes he was able to make jumps but would not been able to do with a standard motorcycle. Also it is a little bit too long, but it interesting to see what happens and that is what matters.

Rating of
3/4

Alex - wrote on 05/15/2007

McQueen, the king of cool, is perfect for the role of the adventurer. The movie is a little too long for me, but is still a great watch if you have the patience. A classic movie that any war movie buff needs to see.

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 02/28/2007

Enough suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and enough action to keep to on your toes - The Great Escape, with an excellent cast, is a classic in every sense of the word.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?