The Godfather: Part II Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

nooboi - wrote on 04/06/2022

So fresh even today. A classic they has stood the test of time. The soundtrack is timeless and it beats the original.

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/28/2019

A sequel that also happens to function as a prequel, it's hard to say whether or not Part II out did Part I, but it's definitely just as good.

Rating of
4/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/21/2018

Coppola pushes the boundaries of his now epic saga in a new delivery of exceptional storytelling and an enthralling and epic structure. De Niro's addition is a fantastic decision by the visionary Coppola; the 70s were the best time to tell such a magnificent story. A splendid cast still fills the screen; nevertheless, it is its natural and unforced direction that makes of The Godfather, Part II one of the best American movies ever made. It is a mood that does not prevail in modern cinema anymore. 98/100

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 09/17/2013

Michael Corleone: "If you don't listen to me and marry this man, you'll disappoint me". The godfather: part 2 is one of the best squeal's ever made to cinema. The acting is outstanding and the characters feel like real people and not movie characters.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 03/09/2013

Although it doesn't have quite the iconic imagery and nature of the first film, the Godfather: Part II is a richer, more full tale that dives more into the tragic and revenge-filled backstory behind the Corleone family. The acting is fantastic as the franchise adds the inimitable talents of Robert De Niro, and the production design and atmosphere is as deep and involving as ever. The film doesn't have the guttural punch of the first film's moments of brutality, but it does benefit from a longer and more in depth approach to the crime family.

Rating of
4/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/06/2012

This movie does surpass the first, due to one thing only... the acting. The entire cast was amazing and exploded on screen making this a more fun and exciting watch than the first. The writing, directing, score, and everything in between lived up to the amazingness of the first.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 03/31/2012

This is a longer and even richer continuation of the first 'Godfathe'r film. A quiet compelling character piece of the father and son. At once and prequel and sequel, the events of each one's journey to lead this crime family run parallel in story telling format. Yet, this is even longer and more drawn out than the previous. So much feels slow and sluggish, making it hard for me to invest. It has a terrific end, but the journey to get there is a bit rocky. I'm one of the few that do not prefer this over Part I.

Rating of
4/4

Moviehead - wrote on 03/25/2012

First movie is better. But second is for sure among the best gangser films ever. What is better in this movie is that it also tells story of young vito which makes it kind of more epic than first one. I love this movie also because of michael, great character, i love when he is thinking how to outsmart his enemies, and he always does it. I am very annoyed by diane keaton and she play bitch very well.

Rating of
1.5/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

I have officially reached the point where it takes me 3 nights to make it through a long movie. Maybe that is to blame, but I was not impressed by this. Another case of "Why make this movie?" It just shows the further downward spiral of corruption. I think that point was already made well by the first movie.

Rating of
4/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 03/02/2011

I see why people call this the greatest sequel ever made - because, as near as I can tell, it is the greatest sequel ever made. It's like the took everything that worked from the first and just kicked it up a notch. Fantastic in every way.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?