A Fish Called Wanda Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2.5/4

Indyfreak - wrote on 08/09/2019

Crime comedy about an assortment of unsavory or unlucky characters scheming to acquire stolen diamonds or fall in love or murder old ladies. Ah that British sense of humor. Kevin Kline is the best cast member as the oafish crook Otto West. Jamie Lee Curtis' character isn't really that likable but she looked gorgeous in this movie. There are solid humorous set-pieces in this film but I wouldn't consider it a comedy classic as many seem to think.

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 08/08/2019

While every one of the cast members is terrific, it's Kevin Kline who stands out as the show stealer. "A Fish Called Wanda" is a laugh riot with an absolutely crazy heist premise.

Rating of
2/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 11/04/2012

I never really saw what the fuss was about, but it didn't offend me.

Rating of
2/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 11/04/2012

I never really saw what the fuss was about, but it didn't offend me.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/29/2011

A silly film that stands on the backs of the fantastic comic timing and improv ability of its cast. Cleese and Curtis fit well into the satirical mold of this crime film spoof, but it's Kevin Kline and Michael Palin's oafish team of henchmen that are the real scene-stealers of this odd, but charming crime comedy.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 05/07/2011

Mixes satire, with farce and crazy characters. Abundant in a variety of laughs. It's a comedy-caper well worth your time.

Rating of
3.5/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 05/06/2011

An extremely well-written and funny English romp, with uproarious screwball farce and sharp Ealing-esque black humour. Worth a look for Kevin Kline's performance alone.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 09/14/2010

An American comedy masquerading as a British comedy should be a miss, but this works remarkably well. Kevin Kline, John Cleese and Michael Palin - along with Jamie Lee Curtis in her prime - a great crime / comedy.

Rating of
3.5/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 01/21/2010

I thought the film started slightly too much like a standard heist film, but after that it blew up into something a whole lot better. A comedy that was funny with many funny scenes and funny characters. I would recommend to watch it because it is funny. I would not elaborate any further because I would not ruin any of the jokes, but the assassination attempt scenes are particularly funny. Oscar Win Kevin Kline Best Supporting Actor- Here is an incredibly none standard Oscar win because this is just a fully comic performance without a single part being drama. A full comedic performance that was deservedly rewarded because Kline is very funny in this film.

Rating of
3.5/4

serioussir - wrote on 05/09/2008

This is a very funny show! Kline is hysterical as Curtis' bad-guy boyfriend. Michael Palin gives a fantastic performance as the stuttering accomplice. Cleese is wonderful as the barrister who becomes unwittingly involved in the crime. Highly recommend this one.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?