Devil's Advocate Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Indyfreak - wrote on 11/01/2018

Stylish and unsettling supernatural thriller about a hotshot lawyer (Reeves) who unwittingly is hired by Satan himself (Pacino). Al Pacino is having a blast. New York’s familiar settings like high rises and the subway suddenly transform into otherworldly habitats. Neighbors and coworkers are less friendly than they are sinister hucksters or seductresses. The whole 1990s itself becomes a battleground between wholesome small town values and the dark forces of encroaching urban dwelling yuppies

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 06/18/2014

Al Pacino as the devil... Brilliant. The story is about a new hotshot lawyer gets the opportunity of a lifetime to relocate and join a prestigious law firm. The price he pays is more than he bargains for. Keanu Reeves may not by a good actor as I said it in my 47 Ronin review but he his a likable guy in real life and his acting in this movie wasn't that bad to be honest. The movie feels like end of days but this movie came out two years before end of days came out so end of days is a rip-off of the devil Advocate, The movie has some scenes that could have been easily edited out but Al pacino played a good devil in my opinion.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/09/2012

An interesting horror film that succeeds mostly because of the stellar performances by an ensemble cast. The ghoulish imagery is made scarier by Pacino's imposing performance and even Keanu Reeves manages to approach emotional acting.

Rating of
4/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/17/2011

Great movie & I thought the ending was perfect

Rating of
4/4

morningdarkness - wrote on 02/23/2011

this movie is great. what happens to therons character is great.

Rating of
3/4

horrorlover101 - wrote on 01/13/2009

The main reason to watch this film is for Al Pacino's powerhouse performance as Satan, it gave me chills, the story is solid and has some good twists in it and the effects are phenomenal. The only thing I can really say didn't work is Keanu Reeve's dull and unexplainably bad performance. As a horror fan I think it is a worthy film and worth a watch but rating it as a film on a whole I wasn't that impressed. The story has just been done to many times and frankly I think it is getting old, a better film to watch dealing with this topic is The Omen with Gregory Peck. Well I said my piece.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 09/11/2008

After recently watching a few movies that had some story involving Satan trying for a spawn, I have to say that this one is the best. I really like the whole setting of the judicial system against the backround of New York. I also like the way the story unravels itself and builds up to the great ending. Worth watching for these reasons and Al Pacino as Satan.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alex - wrote on 05/12/2007

This could be Reeves best performance. Pacino does a swell job as well, but I couldn't take Theron's performance. The story is served well and the inclinations make sense (practicing law). In the end though, it is not good enough.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 02/28/2007

A pretty twisted tale about the nature of evil and the choices people make. It's a solid film, if not the greatest ever. I like it well enough.

Rating of
3.5/4

Josh C - wrote on 12/16/2006

Erie and frustrating to watch in a good way. The movie makes you question what is real and what is reality which is the makings of a good thriller.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?