City of God ( Cidade de Deus ) Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/04/2019

Eyeopening and surprisingly stylized, "City of God" is an engrossing crime flick with compelling and intertwined character plot lines.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 04/07/2014

Though the narrative skips around in time, the main focus is on Cabeleira who formed a gang called the Tender Trio. He and his best friend, Bené (Phelipe Haagensen), become crime lords over the course of a decade. This movie has a good story and it's a cool crime film.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/06/2013

City of God is a weighty and chilling thriller that transports its audience to another time and setting, where street violence is the norm, even among children. The film's expansive coming of age story is poignant and eye-opening in a way not often seen in cinema. Without Hollywood stars or flashy action, Mereilles tells an intriguing visual story about pain and triumphant that grabs you by the throat and never lets go.

Rating of
4/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 11/27/2012

This is an amazing movie. It shows crime to us in a completely different perspective. Having us see the violence of another country through children's eyes is chilling and hard hitting. This is a must see for any movie lover. One of the best foreign films since Seven Samurai.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 05/21/2012

Raw and unflinching teenage gangster story. The non-stylized, gritty presentation and fast paced editing are arresting. I was immersed in the narrative and harsh environment.

Rating of
4/4

ladyk - wrote on 10/01/2011

Talk about great directing and cinematography. I was totally mesmerized b this film The actors were amazing the story was realistic and happens everywhere in the world. All the hype was right on I truly enjoyed this film. After watching this film I was curious to learn more about Rio . We are usually only exposed to the glitzy side of this city. I would recommend this movie and give it two hands up and wave them in the air!

Rating of
1/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/22/2011

Not as good as it was hyped to be

Rating of
4/4

The Film Rebel - wrote on 11/02/2010

In a way, this is kinda like the Shawshank Redemption of our generation. It wasn't recongized to the extent of its full greatness when it was first released, but since then it has gone on to become a modern classic.

Rating of
3.5/4

Patrik - wrote on 11/02/2010

Great story and though all the killing, somewhere, it makes me feel good. The film is very realistic and through the great directing and cinematography, Meirelles really succees to give us a great film. At first I thought it would be more sensitive and more sad but it was not what I expected. Easily one of the best non-american movies that I've seen.

Rating of
4/4

gideon43 - wrote on 05/26/2010

A mesmerising crime epic which has the most realistic depiction of Gang warfare ever committed to film. Astonishingly brutal and engrossing, City of God is sometimes difficult to watch; nevertheless, the intimate and revealing portrayal of life in the slums of Rio is daring and dynamic. Pitch perfect (and kinetic) editing, coupled with acting so good, you can't help feel your watching a documentary, enhances one of the finest gangster movies ever. Another amazing movie incredibly snubbed at the Oscars.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?