Casino Royale Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Snoogans - wrote on 06/10/2010

Being a HUGE Bond fan, I have to say that this is the quintessential 007 film. It's got everything you could ever want in a Bond movie and it's not crazily over-the-top like many of the later films in the series. Daniel Craig makes an excellent Bond and blows the last 4 actors out of the water. It's a great movie that anyone will enjoy.

Rating of
3/4

gideon43 - wrote on 05/27/2010

Bond is re-invented for the 21st century; stepping into the shoes of the suave quintessential secret agent, Daniel Craig surpasses all expectations and reinvigorates a tried and trusted franchise. Grittier, more vulnerable and evidently colder than an icebox in Alaska, Bond is given a major overhaul and the evidence is there for all to see. Opening with one of the finest action scenes ever seen on film, Casino Royale is an intriguing, gripping and hard-hitting film, which has three dimensional characters, glamorous locations and sublime direction. One of the best Bond films ever, it's only a shame they went and blew it with Quantum of Solace.

Rating of
4/4

ryan - wrote on 05/21/2010

In my opinion, they should have stuck with Ian Flemmings James Bond all along. This movie is so action packed, you're pulse rate quickens from the start of the movie. The way Director Martin Campell shows his view of the book Casino Royale, is just how I imagined it would be (except for maybe the actors that play the characters), it is highly accurate, and that is the way it should be. Daniel Craig is the best Bond since Sean O' Connery, and if you've seen this movie you would probably agree. He just seems more realistic along with his supervisors in the MI6 branch of the government. The best Bond film in 20 years.

Rating of
3/4

MonaG - wrote on 04/22/2010

I really enjoyed the opening sequence of this film. Not a big Bond fan-- only watch Bond films if I like the storyline. Pierce Brosnan my favorite Bond.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 10/26/2009

The best Bond movie I've ever seen. And, I'm not even all that much of a Bond fan to begin with.

Rating of
3/4

Freddie - wrote on 09/19/2009

I'm not at all a Bond follower so I am in no position to compare this one to any of the previous. Standing alone, he was quite amazing. This film was action-packed and very entertaining for the most part. The first 3 minutes and then the last 30 were a problem for me. In the first 3 minutes I already wanted to watch something else, because I had no idea what was going on. In the last 30, I simply couldn't wait for the film to finish. Overall, it was a good movie.

Rating of
4/4

shutterspeed777 - wrote on 04/25/2009

When you think of a movie, and you begin to recall where you saw it, with whom you saw it, and what kind of snacks you were munching on, then it's a pretty darn good movie! On top of that, I guess I annoyed my friends when I asked a lot of questions while we were all watching. That's how excited I was. At first, I was SEAN CONNERY FOREVER FOR 007! I could not have imagined how DANIEL CRAIG could have been picked up to assume this role. Would anybody tell me who picked him out? Man, this is good!

Rating of
3/4

goodfellamike - wrote on 10/30/2008

This reinvention to the James Bond legacy pretends the other adventures never happened (with the exception of Judi Dench as M0. Daniel Craig is an ideal choice and humanizes Bond rather than continues the caricature that has turned his sleekness into lame one-liners. There's plenty of action and romance in this mature entry, but one is left puzzled by Eva Green's character. Final Grade: B

Rating of
N/A

Sanjoy Alexander - wrote on 05/16/2008

a far cry from the usual bond fare, casino royale comes across a s arefreshing change. for the first time we get to see how hard it can be for a secret agent...its not just about the spoils - the gear, the gadgets and the girls...its a bout getting into the heart of the action. thanks to the brilliant execution by martin campbell and an exceptionally good performance by Daniel Craig, we have one of the best bond movies in hand...

Rating of
4/4

Virtuakd - wrote on 03/14/2008

I was surprised how much I liked this film. Daniel Craig was the most dangerous Bond since Sean Connery (and much more true to the original character in the Ian Flemming novels). Eva Green was pretty and a weak actress in this though. Altogether I was pretty rivetted. The opening scene was absolutely dynamite. Also cool to see how Bond became 007 by making his first hit for Her Majesty's Secret Service. See it!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?