Casablanca Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 05/27/2019

The poster child of classic movies, "Casablanca" is one of the greatest and most iconic films of all time. With its unforgettable romance, humor, drama, and suspense, it's an undeniable cinema great.

Rating of
4/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/21/2018

Casablanca is one of classic Hollywood's immortal love tales during wartime. Curtiz was in top shape, and a duo of the size of Bogart and Bergman together was just impossible to miss. To say it is the best love story ever told would be a mistake; however, this has stood the test of time and has effectively marked an eternal stamp on the hearts of generations around the world. In my book, that needs a prolonged applause. 98/100

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 03/03/2013

Casablanca is truly one of the all-time greats. From the smart and revealing dialogue to the noirish setting, the film is spectacular in the way it crafts a unique world of espionage and spoiled romance. All of the principal leads are equally memorable, though Humphrey Bogart gets the lion's share of the script's iconic lines.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/05/2011

Some good dialogue and acting, in a story of past romance and political dealings. I give this film points for it's competence and great ending, but I just didn't care much for it the way most everyone seems to.

Rating of
4/4

patjohnson76 - wrote on 09/01/2011

I'm not sure why I waited so long to see this movie, but this film truly deserves it's status as one of the greatest films in of all time. The fact that you can watch something made 70 years ago and see it still hold up today is a true feat. The story is engaging, the dialogue crisp, the characters intriguing, and the climax heartbreaking. Truly one of the greats.

Rating of
4/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/03/2011

Members of my generation already know the ending and its status as "Classic Romance Film Prototype" begs to be disputed. That Casablanca still manages to impress shows not only what an excellent movie it is, but also what movies could be. The scene where they sing "Marseillaise" was my favorite.

Rating of
2/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 04/06/2010

A cinematic classic, nothing beats the film noir style than the original film noir "Casablanca." However, I will not give credit where it is not deserved, the film was overdone much in the way that 1940s films were, leading to over-dramatization. If dealt with in a more artistic manner, the film would have been better suited to modern audiences and even audiences of the future.

Rating of
4/4

TheManWithNoName - wrote on 09/16/2009

While it's not my favorite movie of all time, it is the movie that I consider to be the greatest movie ever made. A definite must see.

Rating of
4/4

3SntnceRvws! - wrote on 06/02/2009

The lost art of turning one simple historical contingency into a touching and endearing work of moral and ethical being is alive and well here. This cannot be duplicated, remade, or easily xeroxed as many immitators have tried. This may be the finest piece of political drama ever via the beyond superb acting, plot, and development through Curtiz's genius lense.

Rating of
4/4

bahamutthegf2005 - wrote on 03/10/2009

Masterful, a timeless classic, with so many quotables. One of the best movies of all time

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?