The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/06/2019

Not as grand as "The Lord of the Rings," but die-hard fans will be more than satisfied with this return to Middle Earth.

Rating of
2.5/4

Indyfreak - wrote on 07/24/2014

Almost three hours of watching dwarves and one hobbit strolling through Middle-Earth. Lots of padding that adds little to the story. Peter Jackson is entering the "1990s George Lucas" mindset of his career it would seem. God help us all.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 02/08/2014

Bilbo Baggins is swept up on an adventure with Gandalf the Grey and thirteen dwarves, led by Thorin Oakenshield, in order to reclaim the Dwarf Kingdom of Erebor from the fearsome dragon Smaug but before they get to the Lonely Mountain they must pass through the Goblin Caves where Bilbo will find Gollum and a his "precious". This movie had a lot of mixed reviews but I didn't get the hate for this movie. this movie had good visual effect's/good score/this movie does get slow at the start but at the secord part it get aweosme.

Rating of
3/4

Owen McKenna - wrote on 02/02/2014

Owen McKenna Rio Rancho, NM. I found the first third of the movie to be kind of slow. Overall I enjoyed the movie. I am looking forward to the next movie. If you are a LOTR fan, I highly recommend this film.

Rating of
3.5/4

samufilm - wrote on 01/17/2013

Another great movie from Peter Jackson, with great performances by Martin Freeman, Andy Serkis and Ian Mckellen. Great visual effects, a bit of a holy plot, but great composing by Howard Shore and a great movie overall.

Rating of
2.5/4

Stephen - wrote on 01/01/2013

familiar characters mixing with new stars in the 13 dwarfs means you feel comfortable and warm quickly slow pace with Martin Freeman good as the young Bilbo allows you to understand the characters well. Only disappointment is the finish of the film in 3D was too artificial - will restrict to 2D in future although I hear CGI remains too obvious in 2D too, in 3D it was overbearing at times... Enjoyable if not breathtaking - still looking forward to the next one..

Rating of
2.5/4

Alex - wrote on 12/29/2012

Disappointing. The CGI is incredible at times (The cave scenes) and awful at others (dogs chasing through the prairie). The story is moved along slowly with boring action in my mind. I actually liked the slow beginning and loved the interaction with Golem. Jackson knows epic, and this one tries but fails. Hopefully the next one is tighter.

Rating of
3.5/4

sapien - wrote on 12/28/2012

I thought this movie was going to be better than it was. But then again, I thought it was going to be the best movie ever. lol. It was still damn good!

Rating of
4/4

phantom - wrote on 12/18/2012

Gollum was freakishly real, if it wasn't for the occasional eye-shine, I would have believed he was a real creature. It's amazing how mush the technology has improved in the last decade. Now I won't lie, there were a few scenes that ran on a bit, but overall it didn't feel anywhere near three hours. I've seen it twice already, and I have every intention to see it as many times again.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/15/2012

While I don't consider it necessary to split one book into three movies, I still found this journey back to Middle Earth to be fun. Details in the visuals are as immersive as in the previous trilogy and there is plenty of adventure to be had. Some fantastic scenes are present. However, it's the story that takes a hit this time. Stretching out this smaller tale by adding in much more mythos seems sort of irrelevant. Too much time is spent on set-up and explanations of things that don't feel essential to the main quest. Maybe this will payoff after seeing the next two parts. But, as for now, it feels like having to watch the 'extended cut' in multiple installments.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?