Seventh Seal, The ( Det Sjunde inseglet ) Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 09/12/2011

An iconic Bergman work that thrives on symbolism. It is occasionally slow-moving, but the layers of meaning are rich and the entire effect of the film is haunting.

Rating of
4/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 03/30/2011

A work of empyreal melancholia (something of an oxy-moron, I know) and inoffensive jocularity, 'The Seventh Seal' is Bergman's, if not Sweden's, greatest film!

Rating of
4/4

TheManWithNoName - wrote on 10/01/2009

I watched this for the first time last night and was totally blown away. I wish Bergman would've featured Death more. The scenes with him in it were the best in the movie. Revealing look into the human mind. Great film, everyone should watch it at least once.

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 08/24/2009

Beautiful and haunting, The Seventh Seal is the rare film that deserves it praise. Life, death, religion - questions but no answers except what you take away. It is a bit depressing, but there is also hope. And that is all man can ask for.

Rating of
4/4

Gustavo² - wrote on 04/19/2009

Embora recorra com menor intensidade a sutilezas e simbolismos sofisticados que moldaram as produções subsequentes mais radicais de Bergman, esta obra-prima repleta de imagens memoráveis revela-se uma aventura surpreendente, aliando humor, ação e reflexão, sem deixar de tocar nas questões existenciais tão caras ao seu autor, como a impotência diante da morte e a incomunicabilidade entre os homens e um Deus distante.

Rating of
2/4

Alex - wrote on 03/28/2009

Maybe I missed something, but besides the beautiful scenery and interesting sequences with death (few too many) I didn't get it. I know it is a canvas for Bergman, but why do I care. This one is not for me, but many love it.

Rating of
4/4

The_Watchman - wrote on 04/18/2008

An amazingly powerful, thoughtful and surprisingly funny film that blew me away the first time I saw it. Loved every minute of it.

Rating of
4/4

philly22 - wrote on 09/15/2007

Bergman made this movie to ease his angst. His worries about death. He said that it was like painting a painting, and when it was finished he said "here, take it, I don't want it". It was his therapy. And it's such a huanting movie. Amazing.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?