Shadow of a Doubt Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/02/2019

A noir by Alfred Hitchcock, "Shadow of a Doubt" is one of the iconic director's greatest films.

Rating of
0.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 10/03/2011

I couldnt sit through the whole movie

Rating of
2/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 09/07/2011

Of all the marvelous films Hitchcock directed that he could have declared his personal favourite - great films such as 'The Lady Vanishes (1938)', 'Rope', 'Strangers on a Train', 'Dial M for Murder', 'The Wrong Man (1956)', 'Vertigo', 'Psycho (1960)', 'The Birds', and 'Frenzy' - he had to pick this one; a naive parable about how a small town and an intolerably innoxious Teresa White react to the presence of an evil Joseph Cotton. If Hitch was resurrected and I could ask him but one question, it would be: "WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?!!!?"

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/15/2011

An early Hitchcock film that manages to conjure genuine suspense from a relatively simple plot. Joseph Cotten, as the maybe murderer, creates an imposing presence and the use of skillful cinematography and music gives weight to the story.

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 10/03/2009

I think Hitchcock should've played up the mystery of the plot and made it a whodunit. But, all in all, not a bad movie.

Rating of
3/4

SmokeScreener - wrote on 06/06/2009

I watched this film again recently, and it still holds up well. The plot is simple, yet very suspenseful. This is due to the well-rounded performances of the cast, especially Teresa Wright and Joseph Cotten. It is also filled with the signature camera angles and shots that make a Hitchcock film so special. As always, I kept track of tobacco use. There are 20 incidents of smoking in this film. Joseph Cotten is responsible for most of these, including several scenes in which he smokes cigars around his young niece and nephew. The film earned a SmokeScreeners rating of 4 Butts. http://tinyurl.com/mfsatk

Rating of
4/4

Allison - wrote on 11/14/2007

I go ga-ga for Joseph Cotten and Teresa Wright is in top form in this film. The reason why it's so scary is because it COULD happen. Or at least it presents the fact that someone close to you might be the deadliest threat of all. It's one of Hitchcock's hidden gems. One of his best and my personal favorite.

Rating of
3.5/4

Alex - wrote on 07/05/2007

One of Hitchcock's better movies - especially as an earlier film. Wright puts on a good show and Cotten does well as the "is he a killer or not" role. I admit, I was surprised at how good it was and actually want to see this one again.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?