The Great Dictator Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/17/2019

A classic comedy with a relevant message, Charlie Chaplain's "The Great Dictator" is a satirical stroke of genius.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 05/27/2014

Chaplin doesn't play to his slapstick-y strengths throughout all of 'The Great Dictator'. This is a 100% talkie. Some lesser scenes are mildly clever, while others are silly fun. There's a slight imbalance in that. However, the whole film is a sharp satirical thorn in the side of Hitler's dictatorship. I have to admire Chaplin's bravery in lampooning the figure during the height of his reign. The final act rises above the uneven silliness to be more thoughtful. Chaplin's ending speech is a strong peaceful statement that I hope all would agree with. Terrifically well said.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/21/2011

A classic Chaplin film that smartly walks the line between political commentary and Chaplin's trademark subtle comedy. Very funny and also very thought-provoking and a good example of how Chaplin's comedy had matured from his earlier films.

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 04/06/2010

I thought it was clever. And, it had the right message too.

Rating of
3/4

Ghost Seed - wrote on 08/24/2008

This grand production is a Chaplin great. The sets and costumes don't disappoint, and as cheesy as it sounds, this is one of those rarely seen classics that should be shown in theaters across the world today. The end speech is powerful, and his choice to deliver it directly into the camera was so very effective. It's packed with scenes of Charlie's usual warmth and humour, paired with those bearing a hefty message - this is a film we should all see to laugh and learn from.

Rating of
2/4

Allison - wrote on 09/26/2007

I thought the first half was funny but then the last half, it seemed it was the same joke being repeated over and over again. Yes, Charlie Chaplin did this way ahead of his time and he must be applauded for that. The current overall rank is #666, oohh maybe it means something?

Rating of
4/4

GGauthier - wrote on 09/26/2007

I really love the antiwar subgenre movies. And this one is quite a masterpiece. Chaplin is again the architect, where directs and constructs a fantastic comedy, with some touches of drama. The final speach. The final speach I think is the best quote ever. I can't add it because is too long, but is good to read it from time to time. Can't miss this flick!

Rating of
3/4

TheWolf - wrote on 08/20/2007

On the brink of war with Europe, Chaplin conjures up this prophetic film portraying a spin off of Hitler as a dictator. The story itself is mundane and only serves to get alongside his wife, Goddard, and to facilitate an outlet for his own political agenda. It is the first complete speaking film that he appears in.

Rating of
3.5/4

Alex - wrote on 12/31/2006

Very funny at times, and a classic like most of Chaplin's films. They are all good, but this one not as good as a few of them (city lights, modern times).

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?