City Lights Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/11/2019

A hilarious and heartwarming slapstick comedy from Chaplin's Depression-era collection.

Rating of
4/4

SteelCity99 - wrote on 04/21/2018

Social strata intertwining in stories that unfold according to their respective implications. Cause and consequence: time goes away so fast. An image speaks more than a thousand words. What about 87 minutes? What about the most heartwarming ending ever filmed in celluloid while the city lights are fading? 99/100

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 09/18/2014

The Tramp: "Tomorrow the birds will sing". City Lights is about a man falls in love with a blind woman who he struggles to support. This is the kind of movie that I watch and think "Comedy back then was so much better then today's comedy". City Lights is a brilliant and well told story movie with fantastic acting from Chaplin. The funniest scenes in this movie has to be most of the film and am not joking about that. The boxing scene, the party scene and the most of the funny parts in the movie. Am not going to give away to much of the ending, but the ending was so sweet and so beautiful, I sat they feeling happy and full of joy.

Rating of
3.5/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/25/2014

A wonderful, classic film of the silent film era. Charlie Chaplin is nothing short of amazing here; he truly is a brilliant comedic performer. He delivers a hilarious and fantastic performance as The Tramp. Virginia Cherrill is also great as The Blind Girl, and she's adorable. This film is funny and sweet.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 02/24/2014

Chaplin's most tender film. It features his signature comedic sensibilities at their best, but the story is more concerned with a sweet romance. The relationship is handled in a light manner, showing affection based off of one's selflessness. It reaches a poignant climax that is perfectly warmhearted.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 08/12/2011

This, along with "Modern Times" and "The Kid," is Chaplin's best film. It portrays a simple love song that focuses on the simple moments that put together a relationship through subtle, graceful comedy. Chaplin has always been a gifted physical actor and, here, the slapstick comedy gives way to the film's true heart.

Rating of
1/4

Amyaronson - wrote on 07/18/2011

Call me a postmodern baby, but I just do NOT get early Hollywood/silent film "humor." It's just a bunch of long-winded repetitive slapstick segments that make me want to kill myself. I know it's a classic, but oh my. I get it, Charlie Chaplin was an auteur and really shaped comedy and he's a great physical comedian and blah blah blah, but goodness sakes, I was bored.

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 09/15/2009

It's definitely one of Chaplin's best. That's for sure. Although, I have to say, I was expecting it to be a little better.

Rating of
4/4

fake_username - wrote on 02/25/2008

Chaplin's best and probably the best of the silent era. Emotionally powerful and very funny with great music to top everything off, this is a must see movie.

Rating of
4/4

GGauthier - wrote on 09/11/2007

Sometimes if you see with the eyes of your heart, you might get somethings good. Chaplin's sweetest film, it's also a fantastic comedy, and a strong drama. Can't miss it if you like silents.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?