Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/10/2019

While it doesn't follow Roald Dahl's original book scene for scene, it's just as whimsical and Gene Wilder truly brings the character of Willy Wonka to life.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/08/2014

Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory is a creepy and chilling kids film that may scare some kids. But I grow up with this movie and when I watch it now I still like it.

Rating of
3/4

dwry - wrote on 07/03/2013

I used to watch it every weekend when I was a kid. Great movie for the whole family.

Rating of
3.5/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 01/08/2013

The most imaginative and fun movie of my childhood

Rating of
1.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 10/01/2012

I'm clearly in the minority but I prefer Tim Burton's version. This one is comparatively garish and superficial and Gene Wilder's Wonka gives me the creeps...

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/01/2011

HIghly imaginative film that holds up today. A very quirky and fun performance from Wilder.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 11/05/2011

Let's forget Tim Burton's horrible remake. This film comes closest to capturing the magic and inventiveness that is in Roald Dahl's classic book. Gene Wilder personalizes Willy Wonka as an eccentric, and yet, very human inventor and the film features a mix of fun songs and intricate visuals.

Rating of
0.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/14/2011

I like Gene Wilder but I thought this movie was crap & even worse was the 1 with Johnny Depp

Rating of
4/4

The Film Rebel - wrote on 10/12/2010

This movie's a childhood favorite of mine. Its utterly scrumdidilyumpcious. And it makes me hungry too XD

Rating of
1/4

tinkchick555 - wrote on 08/09/2010

I can't help it, no matter how classic it is, I can never love this movie. Gene Wilder was amazing in it, of that I will attest to the day I die, but they needed a better Charlie, especially if they were going to have him sing. My ears bled for hours after he sang.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?