The War of the Worlds Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
1.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/17/2019

A lousy adaptation of the novel acted out by unlikable characters.

Rating of
1/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/11/2014

Steven Spielberg I love your movie but this movie sucks.

Rating of
3/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/16/2012

The key to these type of movies, for me, is to succeed in achieving fear in the viewer. This movie accomplished that and allowed me to overcome having to watch Tom Cruise and Dakota Fanning for 2 hours (not a fan of either). I never heard the original broadcast, so I do not know how much of that played into the film. This is worth the watch for Sci-Fi and apacolypse type movie fans.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/20/2011

I liked it OK. Would have liked it more with someone else doing the Tom Cruise character.

Rating of
2.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/30/2011

One of Spielberg's weaker films. The best stuff doesn't even involve the aliens, sadly.

Rating of
0.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/24/2011

Go see the original

Rating of
2/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/04/2011

There's a grim lifelessness to this movie that sucks the energy out of it. I get that it's a realistic take on an alien invasion, but the whole ordeal feels hopeless from the start. The ending feels hurried and caps what is an often muddy and poorly-handled plot. Not a fun film to watch.

Rating of
3/4

Aza - wrote on 11/09/2009

A worth-watch science-fiction thriller with fantastic special effects. It's a shame the ending is all but rushed.

Rating of
3.5/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 08/20/2009

Some of you will be very irate that someone gave this movie such a high rating, however, it was truly awesome. I saw this movie 3 times in 2 days, and I couldn't have been more right that this movie rules. No, it wasn't artistically brilliant, but dammit, I was entertained, shocked, and terrified. Tom Cruise was tolerable under Speilberg's directing, and Justin Chatwin and Dakota Fanning were a great pair of siblings. I felt the love and the loss, yet I wish it was longer. Highly recommended.

Rating of
3/4

frenchfreyteetor - wrote on 03/08/2008

I really didn't even want to see this movie, but once I watched it I really enjoyed it. A good renter.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?