The Untouchables Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
1/4

Lee - wrote on 04/04/2014

I am a huge 20/30's era gangster movie fan and although knowing of this film's existence I had never really entertained the thought of watching it till now...should've kept going with my initial gut feeling on this one as it was one of the most cheesiest telling's of the prohibition era that I have ever witnessed. Kudos however go out to Sean Connery's character but that's it. Can anyone tell me how Kevin Costner keeps getting work? One of the most overrated actors ever it always sounds like he is reading a book when he is delivering his lines. If you are a fan like myself of this era leave this one alone. Hard to believe this came from the same director who brought us Scarface.

Rating of
1.5/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 09/30/2012

An extremely flat and characterless treatment of what could've been great material. Only Connery's character really engages and he's killed off by the second half of the film. Disappointing.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/28/2011

Brian DePalma's Untouchables is a masterful blend of tense action and some great character acting (particularly by Sean Connery.) The film recreates the gangster era perfectly with gritty cinematography and production design. I usually hate Costner's acting, but his everyman act kind of works here in the role of Elliott Ness.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/30/2011

Pretty cool, as far as gangster films go.

Rating of
4/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/02/2011

One of the most deserved "career Oscars" for Connery's awesome Malone. So glad when they gave Ennio Morricone his honorary Oscar. His scores are amazing. The staircase shootout-most suspenseful scene ever.

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 03/24/2010

It's really not as good as everyone says it is. But, it's still a pretty cool movie.

Rating of
3.5/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 04/22/2009

A great shoot out film with a great performance from Sean Connery. It does not go that in depth with Eiliot NEss or the Chicago crime problems but its rather just a two sides versus film that works because the action is very well done with a great score to back it.

Rating of
3.5/4

sodapop - wrote on 03/06/2008

Good crime/gangster drama with a nifty musical score.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alex - wrote on 06/26/2007

I wanted to like this movie but I just couldn't. I expected more from De Palma and Costner. It didn't live up to the hype. Although the story was relevant, I figured it would be more interesting than what it was. Decent.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?