The Texas Chainsaw Massacre Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2/4

Ian - wrote on 09/28/2015

Not a good movie by any stretch. The suspension of disbelief starts strong and then gets ridiculous. The cop played by R. Lee Ermy is just... OK, who would possibly believe that is an actual cop. From then it becomes your standard scream fest with people running and screaming with the bad guys chasing them. If you've seen one Texas Chainsaw Massacre you know what to expect here.

Rating of
2.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/28/2014

Not the worst remake, but still not good.

Rating of
4/4

Lee - wrote on 07/03/2014

One of the few reboots I've actually enjoyed and have watched over n' over again..this one tags along with it's prequel "Texas Chainsaw The Beginning" another most awesome telling of the Hewitt family saga and the evil that some men do...Top 10 dysfunctional onscreen family candidate personified..Good cast starring the always yummy Jessica Beals and the always cussing R.Lee Ermey as sgt. Hoyt head of the Hewitt clan. Creepy incestuous family stuff here and loads of Tommy Hewitt a.k.a. Leatherface.

Rating of
2.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/19/2011

Not as good as *TCM:The Beginning*

Rating of
4/4

Jenna - wrote on 08/11/2011

Nowhere near as scary or as gory as the original, but probably more overall entertaining. The cast was great, and the story line stayed in bounds of realism and the original film it was reflecting. I could (and have!) watch this movie a thousand times, it really never gets old. I wasn't aware Jessica Biel was this good of an actress. This film was entertaining and thrilling throughout and definitely set a standard on how modern horror films should be made. I was also pleased to recognize Erica Leerhsen from the Blair Witch sequel. A great film, one of the best horror flicks of the decade.

Rating of
1/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/08/2011

A darker, more gory, and wholly unpleasant version of the horror classic. The original film achieved an insane scariness with little gore and by suggesting more than it showed. This one has no restraint and the film is that more soulless because of it.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 07/30/2008

Takes the best ideas from the original and spins a new story. I liked the addition of the memorably nasty new character Sheriff Hoyt (played by R. Lee Ermy). This is one of the few good remakes, because it only updates the the series in a production aspect. It generates some suspenseful chases and doesn't rely too much on gore.

Rating of
2/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 07/11/2007

The original Texas Chainsaw Massacre is a perfect example of low-budget horror that will creep you out. This pointless remake tries to update the film, but I didn't think it was anywhere near as good as the original. Stop with the remakes!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?