Spaceballs Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/14/2019

Mel Brook's Star Wars spoof is lowbrow at times, but undeniably witty the rest of the time.

Rating of
3/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 05/14/2013

An hilarious and dreadfully quotable film that derives its humour more from good delivery than wit.

Rating of
2.5/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/17/2012

I dunno. I guess its pretty funny. I hate parody movies. They are cheap and stupid to where they are almost unbearable. This one definetely tops the genre. But when you put it against the Scary Movies and Epic Movie films, that is not a great accomplishment. The star-studded cast definitely raises the interest in the film, but it just wasn't enough for me.

Rating of
1/4

Yojimbo - wrote on 11/24/2012

Witless Mel Brookes parody that tries to be the Blazing Saddles of sci-fi, but has all the subtlety of a super star destroyer. Moranis' character is called Dark Helmet. Oh, my sides.

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/27/2011

Some of the parody attempts of the Star Wars franchise are hurried and goofy, but most of them land comedicly and the comic energy of this spoof film is contagious.

Rating of
2.5/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 11/11/2011

A typical spoof with a great cast. Films emulated were Star Wars, Wizard of Oz, Lawrence of Arabia, Planet of the Apes and more. The script was fresh, effects were almost similar to the films spoofed. Lines like "So, Lone Starr, now you see that evil will always triumph, because good is dumb." "I am your father's brother's nephew's cousin's former roommate." and "1, 2, 3, 4, 5? That's amazing! I've got the same combination on my luggage!" Spaceballs made me laugh a few times, which is enough to make a memorable comedy since it has spoofed such popular films.

Rating of
3/4

Snoogans - wrote on 06/22/2011

Another memorable and very funny parody from Brooks. It's a big helping of goofy fun.

Rating of
3.5/4

sapien - wrote on 02/17/2009

This is definitely Mel Brooks' best..., by far! I have a penchant for spoof movies. And, this is the best spoof movie there is. There's so many classic scenes in this movie it's hard to pinpoint my favorite. I guess I just love all of it.

Rating of
3/4

serioussir - wrote on 05/27/2008

A funny, over-the-top parody of Star Wars. Expect it to be goofy, silly, gross and raunchy -- all the things that make a Brooks' film.

Rating of
4/4

cleverestgirl - wrote on 03/18/2008

This movie is hilarious. All of the references cannot be caught in one viewing. The jokes are nearly endless and Rick Moranis was the funniest he has ever been in anything in this film. Joan Rivers is perfectly cast as the voice of Dot Matrix (eh? get it?) If you enjoyed anything about 80's schtick or loved the Star Wars franchise before it went all Jar-Jar Binks, you should watch this movie. And then watch it again. Nothing depressing happens in the whole movie, and that's amazing.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?