Seven Samurai, The ( Shichinin no samurai ) Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/06/2013

This is Kurosawa's epic - a masterpiece that juggles a distinct cast of characters, some interesting drama, and an impressive series of choreographed battle sequences. Despite its ponderous running length, the film never disappoints and continues to remain a powerful combination of humor and action.

Rating of
4/4

FSUNoles27TS - wrote on 12/06/2012

The movie that opened me up to more movies. Black and white in another language might be hard for some, but it is worth the watch as this is an amazing piece of film.

Rating of
4/4

SIngli6 - wrote on 08/03/2011

Magnificent drama coupled with expertly choreographed sword-fighting was the forte of oriental auteur Akira Kurosawa, but his directorial prowess with this combination had never effectuated such a long-lasting resonance as it had with 'Seven Samurai', a film that rouses laughter, lamentation, and lust for blood.

Rating of
4/4

TheManWithNoName - wrote on 10/01/2009

The inspiration for the western The Magnificent Seven. In my opinion this is the second greatest foreign film of all time (The Good, the Bad and the Ugly will always be number 1). The characters in this film are very captivating and inspirational, as George Lucas has said the older samurai was his inspiration for Yoda. Toshiro Mifune's character is probably the best one of all, being the outgoing charismatic son of a farmer who became a samurai. Kurosawa's influence can be felt in many films over time, but none more strongly than Seven Samurai...now if I could only find this on DVD somewhere.

Rating of
3.5/4

GJ81 - wrote on 04/01/2009

I ask myself, why why did i put off watching this film for so long? I regret now that it has taken 28 years for me to see it. Kurosawa is often hailed as one of the greats, but i'd only ever seen Rashomon, which i did really enjoy. But after seeing Seven Samurai, it is confirmed. He manages to simplify everything, with just a scene, or a line, or a shot. The story just rolls right along, from A to B, with no messing around. Everything is nessecary. It has great flashes of wit, and emotion, and the visuals and music surround it beautifully. Now i can't wait to see his other films.

Rating of
3.5/4

sapien - wrote on 11/12/2008

Excellent movie. My favorite part is when the one "samurai" tries to hit the others as they walk through the doorway. But, they block his attack and end up hitting him instead! My least favorite part is the scene with all the slut-shaming in it.

Rating of
4/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 10/31/2008

The Seven Samurai is an incredible epic by director Akira Kurosawa telling the story of a small village that recruits Seven Samurai to fight off hoards of bandits stealing their crops. The film although long creates a terrific atmosphere and an amazing sense of place within this very specific period of Japan. It is said to be one of the greatest films of all time for a reason.

Rating of
4/4

fake_username - wrote on 02/26/2008

Great story telling and perfect characters and character development make this 3 1/2 hour movie go by lightening quick. Not my Kurosawa favorite but one of the most exciting adventure movies ever made.

Rating of
2.5/4

Allison - wrote on 12/22/2007

From viewng this film, I could see that the director is talented. I don't go for long films though, usually!

Rating of
4/4

Sandy Toksvik - wrote on 09/12/2007

This is not an art film, or a martial art film as has been suggested. Its an epic adventure film. Bult around superb character development, and slices of action. At 3 1/2 hours it never seemed long. That should say enough in itself.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?