Planet of the Apes Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
1.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 02/27/2014

The story is about a man is thrown through time and space to a land where apes rule over humans. This movie has bad acting by Mark Wahlberg and stupid senses with Helena Bonham Carter.

Rating of
2/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 12/14/2011

The ship of Leo Davidson (Mark Wahlberg) crashes in a planet Ashlar in the year 5021. He meets Ari (Helena Bonham Carter). General Thade (Tim Roth) and Colonel Attar (Michael Clarke Duncan) to search for humans. A battle erupts between the apes and men. Leo was able to go back in his real era and discovers a horrifying truth. The effects, make-up were definitely better than its predecessor but the depth of the story was incomparable. Performances was a bit over the top here unlike the sincerity of the first installment. The Planet of the Apes (2001 version) was action packed but lacks a suitable screenplay that would have paid a better homage to its original.

Rating of
1/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/18/2011

This remake boils down to a mediocre action flick, with some good practical effects and not much else. The story and characters have been pushed aside in favor of big budget film making and the new version of the famous twist ending is kind of laughable.

Rating of
2/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/20/2011

Pointless remake of a classic sci-fi that erases much of the political commentary and replaces it with murky battle sequences and talky and dragging scenes of dialogue. The visuals are even missing the traditional Burton weirdness.

Rating of
2/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 05/02/2010

Certainly not the crown jewel in the Tim Burton legacy, but a good addition that brings to light that Tim Burton was able to use make-up and the like to make a decent remake. The first in the Burton franchise that I found to be one I didn't have to own (though I eventually broke down and bought it), I enjoyed the movie, but would feign say I would ever watch it again. Just being honest.

Rating of
2.5/4

sapien - wrote on 08/20/2009

I didn't think I'd end up liking this movie. But, ya know what? I kinda did.

Rating of
2.5/4

fifteen% - wrote on 07/10/2009

not a good movie from tim burton but it was just okay. it has a lot of action though. the original was definitely better, you should go watch it!

Rating of
2/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 02/26/2008

I'm a big fan of Tim Burton, but this a rare misstep for the director. It's dark, just like I like it, but it sucks out all the fun that made the original so good. If that wasn't enough, the ending is enough to make me wretch.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?