The New World Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 01/04/2017

After finishing "The New World", I was lost with words. Not because the film is bad or anything. But, well...oh damn. It's been awhile since a movie moved me like this did. With gorgeous landscapes and the undiscovered country had a sense of adventure to it. Visually captivating and a emotionally rich film. This is Terrence Malick at his best. The only director out there that knows and understands the human soul. And Lubezki is the man that presents his vision in the most unique way. Seriously, those two are dynamite. "The New World" has some many things going on that you can't keep up with it. Not to mention it's 3 hours long and I only found that out after it was over. And quite honestly, I didn't care.

Rating of
4/4

Mark - wrote on 08/27/2014

brilliant and beautifully done. malick does more with less and lets the thoughts of the participants and their surroundings tell the story.

Rating of
2.5/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 10/14/2012

Brilliant acting and spectacular cinematography/location/costumes/make-up. What buries the pictures zest were the snail-paced storytelling, lack of interesting charaters and a believable romantic angle. Apocalypto was definitely more entertaining since it dealt with tribes as well. The New World may be thought-provoking, its execution and outcome however was not a satisfying.

Rating of
1.5/4

Black - wrote on 11/24/2011

not that bad

Rating of
4/4

Bribaba - wrote on 05/05/2011

The story is a reworking of the Ponchanotas tale, essentially a love story with English settlers battling it out with native Americans. It's shot and edited in Malick's trademark style: ie exquisitely beautiful, and is worth seeing for that alone. The performances are excellent and the box office disaster that it became had more to do with poor marketing than any lack of quality.

Rating of
3/4

goodfellamike - wrote on 10/23/2008

Terrence Malick's 4th film in 33 years is a lush, hypnotic and ponderous vision of a time when society's progression clashed with the simple lives of natives and one girl kept the balance between peace and hostility; it's perhaps too meditative and in the end contains too many different voiceovers and points of view. The cinematography is superb. Final Grade: B

Rating of
0.5/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 10/03/2008

Colin Farrell and Terrence Malick...you'd expect a good show, right? You'd expect a thrilling, well-told epic masterpiece, right? You'd expect to see Oscars and glamour for those involved, right? But, if you ever watched "The New World," you will have noticed that none of these things are present. You'll notice that the director wanted to make a movie about panoramas and that the story came second to the cinematography. You'll notice that this bore-fest was quite possibly one of the only movies in history that sucked worse than "Plan Nine From Outer Space."

Rating of
2.5/4

Alex - wrote on 06/25/2007

I really really wanted to like this movie. I figured a movie directed by Malick would be fantastic, but I was let down. It is very slow (even though I was expecting it to be) but beautiful. It was well acted, but not executed well. Darn.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?