Life is Beautiful ( vita è bella, La ) Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/24/2019

I enjoyed "Life Is Beautiful," even though it glosses over harsh aspects of the Holocaust for the sake of sweetness.

Rating of
4/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 02/22/2012

"Life is Beautiful" is a bold and life-affirming movie that brilliantly blends comedy (some of it dark) and tragedy. Director Benigni gives his best acting performance in a story that is clearly very dear to the director/actor's heart. The film places a unique perspective on WWII and ends in typical uplifting fashion.

Rating of
4/4

Tammy - wrote on 12/31/2011

One of Roberts Benigni's best films. Easily the best foreign film of 1998. Totally memorable!

Rating of
4/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/01/2011

Yes, so beautiful. Some movies just get better and better. The first half is a romantic comedy, and the second half is the sacrifice that the culmination of romance entails. My favorite foreign film.

Rating of
4/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 11/09/2009

I feel that Life is Beautiful is one of the best movies I've ever seen and that everyone should really see it. It is hard to make a truly funny movie about the Holocaust. The movie is very dark despite the humor (it is about concentration camps), but this is a movie about hope in the face of hopeless situations.

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 08/21/2009

"Life Is Beautiful" is by far one of the best foreign films of all time. Its message of endurance and the strength of love between a family in the midst of tragedy is universal and important. Roberto Benigni [despite his award show antics] is a wonderful writer and performer. And the end of this movie will leave you in tears of happiness and sadness. Its that good!

Rating of
3/4

GJ81 - wrote on 07/09/2009

Its a bizzare film of two halves. But the first half is so likable and funny that you have to stick with the second half because you care about the characters. Its a very touching piece of cinema, and the relationship between the father and son is especially moving. I'm not sure whether it all glued together for the duration, possibly a bit repetetive during the second half, but still, its a great film that deserves your attention.

Rating of
3.5/4

Cal - wrote on 12/15/2008

There couldn't be a movie with more heart. It's a wonderful story about a man raising and keeping together a family in the hardest time in modern history.

Rating of
3.5/4

sapien - wrote on 11/10/2008

This is a heart-warming, sad movie that almost made me cry many times. Yet, it's also full of humor, hopefulness and, of course, life. This is a very emotional, inspirational movie as well. Everyone should watch it. It really touches the soul, and warms the heart.

Rating of
4/4

GGauthier - wrote on 09/11/2007

What can I say? I love this flick. Maybe should I add it as my guilty pleasure? I laugh everytime I see it, I cry everytime I see it, I get pissed everytime I see it... Can't help it. Bennigni made an awesome film, that has some touches of Chaplin's Ditactor and Schindler's list, kind of a mixture of them. If are not the type of crying viewer for some films, don't watch it. You wont find a big deal in it.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?