Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
2/4

Daniel Corleone - wrote on 02/20/2013

This reviewer recalls to be entertaining enough because of its clever "situations" where the kids escape from death. Carrey was a bit over the top in his portrayal. Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events is a decent watch.

Rating of
2/4

Snoogans - wrote on 11/03/2011

Doesn't quite work in all aspects, but the children are okay and Carrey has some good moments.

Rating of
1.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/22/2011

It wasnt as bad as I thought it was gonna be

Rating of
3/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 07/28/2011

Doesn't quite succeed at the macabre level of humor of, say, a Tim Burton film, but the visual pallette is fun and so is seeing stars like Meryl Streep and Jim Carrey lose themselves in ridiculously over the top roles.

Rating of
3/4

serioussir - wrote on 12/31/2008

I haven't read the books so I can't comment on how the movie did or did not destroy them. From the perspective of someone who had no idea what the story was even about before they saw the show, I thought it was pretty good. Carrey is very funny as the horrible Count Olaf. The sets and scenery are creative and clever. It's one of those shows I get a good laugh from again and again. Even the animation at the end of the show (with the credits) is really imaginative and entertaining.

Rating of
1/4

bwill - wrote on 09/09/2008

This movie takes an amazingly clever and funny series of children's books and destroys its soul. Jim Carrey is a talented actor who's shown range ("Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" and "The Truman Show") but using him for this was a bad choice. It's not Carrey's fault -- he's good for over-the-top laughs (and I'm a fan). But the books had so little to do with the "antics" of Olaf. I mean, HE WAS TRYING TO KILL THE ORPHANS. They were never light-hearted and allowing Carrey to ham it up took everything from the books. Yuck.

Rating of
1.5/4

frenchfreyteetor - wrote on 05/29/2008

Unfortunate that is was a really bad movie. I am so glad they didn't make more.

Rating of
3.5/4

TheWolf - wrote on 07/25/2007

I loved this movie when it came out. And the only thing that disappointed me about it is that in choosing Jim Carrey for the lead role of Count Olaf it guaranteed that there would not be a sequel, at least not one with him in it. While I admire the decision Carrey made not to do sequels (He didn't have enough pull in the Ace Ventura years so that is the only exception) it looks like it could hurt what is supposed to be a great series. This movie covered only the first 3 books, and there are still more in the series which would have definitely made for another great movie. Definitely check this one out if you haven't seen it, as it is absolutely fascinating.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 07/20/2007

I haven't read the books, but this seems pretty dark for a kids novel (or series of them). It's kind of gothic, comedic and adventurous. It took Harry Potter three films to get this interesting.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?