Howl's Moving Castle ( Hauru no ugoku shiro ) Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/09/2019

Full of the inspiration, magic, and beauty Hayao Miyazaki features are known for.

Rating of
2.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 04/14/2014

This is my first experience with acclaimed filmmaker Miyazaki, and it most likely won't be the last. Everything about the artwork of this animation is so precise. The colors and moving images are arresting in their simple yet detailed expression. The story is quite creative, to say the least. Not much is ever explained about the 'how' and 'why' of certain characters. I would've liked for some actual rules to be established with the magic element. The mythology is muddled. The characters are distinctly individual. Each has their own quirky personality that adds different shades to the offbeat humor.

Rating of
3.5/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

My very first Miyazaki film, and what a spectacle it was. The animation was absolutely gorgeous; there is truly nothing else like it out there. When it comes to foreign films, I always try to skip dubbed versions and just go along with subtitles; I wish I would have done the same here. At times the script was very cheesy, and I can't help but think that the Japanese to English translation attributed to that. Also, the story got very confusing, especially at the end. Overall though, I absolutely loved this film. Breathtaking and beautiful!

Rating of
3.5/4

☠ kyrstin. ♒ - wrote on 06/16/2011

Whimsy, fun, and beautiful.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 01/10/2011

This isn't the most creative or beautiful Miyazaki film, but it still holds plenty of charm and memorable visual content. The plot gets a little hard-to-follow and murky in the middle, but the wit, inventive characters, and extraordinary animation are enough to make this a worthy part of the legendary director's filmography.

Rating of
4/4

Mokona - wrote on 06/06/2010

Definately the best Miyazaki movie.

Rating of
4/4

salivafan - wrote on 03/17/2009

Howls moving castle is one of my all time favorites. It is about a young teenage girl who seeks for help by a magical wizard named Howl. Apparently the young teenage girl has been cursed by the witch of the waste. She has been turned into an old lady and can only undo the curse by her one true love. I would recommend this to alot of anime fans like me. Especially people who love adventure and romance.

Rating of
3.5/4

Lulu1220 - wrote on 01/29/2009

Another one of my favorite films and on my "Movies I can watch over and over" list. Great story and visually beautiful. I really liked Billy Crystal as the voice of the fire demon. However I really love listening to Christian Bale as the voice of Howl. Lauren Bacall did a wonderful job as the voice of the Witch of the Waste.

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 02/21/2007

Miyazaki creates another masterpiece in animation. If you are familiar with his work you will notice the themes: there is no true good or evil - just shades of gray. It's anti-war as well - but don't let that scare you, it's a family film.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?