Capote Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/02/2019

Philip Seymour Hoffman's career defining role as the famous writer helps the film over come it's slow moments.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 05/06/2014

Capote develops a relationship with one of the killers while traveling back and forth from his home and the jail. Philip Seymour Hoffman gives his best acting that I have even seen. The movie has brilliant writing and a good cast.

Rating of
3.5/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

Great film! Very slow, but once the story gets going, it grips you hard and never lets you go. Philip Seymour Hoffman is absolutely perfect and gives on the best male performances I've seen. A truly devastating performance and one that certainly makes PSH worthy of his Oscar win; it's remarkable how excellent he is. One of the absolute best of 05.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 06/29/2012

Despite a plot that occasionally gets lost in its own machinations, the greatness of Capotes lives and dies on Philip Seymour Hoffman's completely immersive performance on the unique author. Well deserving of his Oscar, Hoffman captures every nuance of the author - from his signature speech pattern to portraying his tragic range of emotions.

Rating of
1/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/25/2011

Go see Infamous

Rating of
2/4

donkeyknight - wrote on 05/02/2011

Cold manipulations and torn motives-a dry portrait of the author of In Cold Blood-but in no way a substitute for the rivetting book

Rating of
4/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 08/20/2009

"Capote" is honestly one of my favorite movies of all time. It showcases just how amazing Philip Seymour Hoffman is, as well as showing the brilliance of green director/writer Bennet Miller. Much better than "Infamous," this movie made me sob as well as prompted me to read the book "In Cold Blood" which was equally as fantastic. Highly recommended.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 12/19/2008

A stunning performance from Hoffman makes this one worth seeing. Even if the film's story gets bogged down at times, seeing an actor at the top of his game makes this one stand out.

Rating of
3/4

serioussir - wrote on 05/20/2008

Although I didn't really like the story much, Hoffman was mesmerizing as the strange and eccentric Capote.

Rating of
2.5/4

Alex - wrote on 05/02/2007

A slow moving picture that has Hoffman at his best. The story is interesting, but not as good as In Cold Blood. Despite some interesting seens and a great performance from Hoffman, it can't be saved from pacing and the lack of plot.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?