True Grit Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/03/2019

It's rare to see a remake as enjoyable as this one.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 08/11/2014

The Coen brothers did it again.

Rating of
3.5/4

ItsHammerTime - wrote on 05/12/2012

The Coen Brothers did it again, they remade an old John Wayne movie and did a great job at it. The violence wasn't too bad, it was just right and Jeff Bridges who plays Rooster Cogburn did the best acting job I have seen in a very long time in modern day movies. The cinematography was just excellent, I forsure give this move 9 guns out of 10 guns. Good job Coen Brothers at making one of the best westerns my eyes have ever seen.

Rating of
3/4

Gabe - wrote on 12/19/2011

The acting is brilliant in this remake of the John Wayne classic. The Coen Brothers make another great film. If you haven't seen this already, get it now.

Rating of
2/4

Black - wrote on 11/24/2011

why?

Rating of
2.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 10/19/2011

Jeff Bridges is no John Wayne & Hailee Steinfeld is no Kim Darby.I did like Matt Damon's Leboeuf just as much as I like Glenn Ford's though .Even the rest of the cast of characters (The stable owner, etc, etc) wern't as good as the originals.This was an OK remake but it doesn't compare to the original True Grit

Rating of
3/4

sapien - wrote on 06/09/2011

I thought this movie was excellent. Although, the original, I think, is slightly better.

Rating of
3.5/4

PsychoKing1227 - wrote on 02/01/2011

A beautiful adaptation to the book, this contains only the premise of John Wayne's epic Western of the same name, but little else. The powerhouse and phenomenal character-acting fo Matt Damon and Josh Brolin supply a great supporting cast in order to mount Jeff Bridges in one of his better roles as well as being able to uplift the incredible Hailee Steinfeld, a young girl who has a great career ahead of her, showing her cinematic chops in a Coen brothers Oscar-nominated film. A great film with beautiful scenery, the violence necessary, and the dialogue sharp.

Rating of
3/4

Rod - wrote on 01/30/2011

"True Grit" is a film of a 14-year-old girl hunting on his father's murderer. A U.S Marshal and a Texas Ranger joined her on this search. Very good movie, indeed! The story is smooth and the characters give satisfaction. Actors did well. And not a bad one for my first ever movie by the Coen brothers. This storytelling simply enthused me. Though, I admit the second quarter of the movie sort of a "dead air" for me. Just that thing. Over all, good job!

Rating of
3.5/4

lpd381 - wrote on 01/11/2011

his movie was a lot of fun to me. None of the characters are overally lickable but you find yourself cheering for them. The scenes are shot very well and the acting is solid throughout including a very strong performance by Hailee Steinfeld who plays Mattie Ross. There are some humorus scenes and they flow well from the plot. It is important to view this movie seperate from its 1969 counter part otherwise you may fall to much on your nostalga and miss a very well done film.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?