Blue Velvet Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
4/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/02/2019

Dark and very disturbing, "Blue Velvet" is an erotic thriller with David Lynch's signature use of imagery, and has an excellent taste in music.

Rating of
3/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 04/04/2017

"Let's fuck! I'll fuck anything that moves! Baby wants to fuck! Baby wants to fuck Blue Velvet!" Dennis Mother Fucking Hopper The only man on the planet who could pull something like this off. A perfect mix of dark comedy and damn right creepy.

Rating of
3/4

Ian - wrote on 09/15/2015

One of the most profane movies I have ever seen. Dennis Hopper's character says the F-word more times than anyone I have ever seen. Sometimes he composes sentences where the majority of words are this word, or will just blurt it our repeatedly for no reason, like "Ok F---, what the f----, I said 'everybody f---'" The tale is slow but gripping, the stakes always feel high and it has a ring of desperation to it that really draws the viewer in.

Rating of
2.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/08/2010

I appreciate some of the creative elements in this film - particularly the soundtrack and visual cues - but it's too weird for me without having a meaning behind the weirdness. Dennis Hopper's character, though, is a purely memorable villain, for better or worse.

Rating of
3/4

Tia Maria - wrote on 08/31/2008

I enjoyed this movie much more than Mulholland Drive, although i don't think it has the same standard of suspense and mystery as Mulholland drive. It is about a guy called Jeffrey who, after finding a severed ear in a field, takes it to the police. But after hearing that he can't be told what the police find out about it, he takes the mystery into his own hands. Eventually, he becomes so wrapped up in the happenings that he can't get out. Good movie, but different to how I imagined.

Rating of
3.5/4

Allison - wrote on 10/09/2007

I've seen this film 3x, and everytime I said I'd never see it again. I got a chance to see it 4x as they were doing a double feature. But my theater was out of turkey dogs and had no other good food and I was starving, so next time I guess. I really identify with the Sandy character and like Dorothy Vallens. Jeffrey Beaumont is the quintessential movie character of all time.

Rating of
2/4

GGauthier - wrote on 09/04/2007

Another overrated flick from Lynch. A very simple crime film, with pretentious to be "weird" or "I'm a special filmmaker". Geez. Again. Lynch does good common flicks. Leave the dreamming or symbolic ones to those that know about it (Buñuel).

Rating of
3/4

Alex - wrote on 04/26/2007

In my mind it is similar to Muholland Dr. but of course, why wouldn't it be. This is another odd David Lynch movie. I think it can grow on a person as I have only seen it once. With each viewing of his movies, I like them more and more.

Rating of
3.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 02/25/2007

This film is dark and disturbing. There is plenty of violence, but it doesn't detract from the story. I would go so far to say it is integral to it. Lynch isn't for everyone, but if you want to expand your mind, give it a try.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?