Black Snake Moan Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 06/17/2019

I found a few scenes questionable, but this southern gothic melodrama in disguise stays out of exploitation thanks to a red hot story that's heavy on detail and surprisingly sweet.

Rating of
0.5/4

Amy - wrote on 12/18/2016

The most entertaining thing about this movie was asking yourself, minute by minute, how anyone associated with this movie could possibly have thought it was in any way a good idea. Exploitative trash, and not the good kind.

Rating of
3/4

Alaine - wrote on 12/09/2011

This was far better than I expected. Not a "great" film, but it got under my skin.

Rating of
2/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/04/2011

Different, but didn't care for it that much.

Rating of
0.5/4

dukeakasmudge - wrote on 09/22/2011

Didnt think it was good as it was hyped to be

Rating of
2/4

sapien - wrote on 10/15/2010

It was fairly boring. But, it had its moments.

Rating of
2/4

The Movie Man - wrote on 05/19/2009

Black Snake Moan is a movie that tries to have it both ways, It tries to send a good message about one man helping a woman turn her life around, when he at the same time is as bad as she is. Solid direction and acting are destroyed by a bad story, pour writing and overlength. Christina Ricci is good, but Samuel L. Jackson fails to deliver. Overall though, They deserve credit for choosing such risky roles as these. Justin Timberlake once again fails to give a good performance, His streak still continues. This film marks Craig Brewers first misfire after the outstanding HUSTLE AND FLOW.

Rating of
2.5/4

Freddie - wrote on 10/24/2008

I would say that this was nothing more than just very entertaining.

Rating of
2.5/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 05/27/2008

Demons from the past haunt the characters in Black Snake Moan. Yet redemption is only a blues' song away. Interesting, but I can't say I loved it. Christina Ricci plays a damaged yet fragile woman, and Jackson plays Lazarus to the hilt.

Rating of
2/4

Alex - wrote on 03/25/2007

My first impression was to give it only 1.5 stars, but after sleeping on it (which I always do) I lightened up some. Sam Jackson can not pull off sining. He does not have a real southern accent and he made me cringe when he tried. Skip it!

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?