The Birds Quick Movie Reviews

Quick Movie Reviews

Rating of
3.5/4

Logan D. McCoy - wrote on 07/02/2019

With "The Birds," Alfred Hitchcock creates one of his most memorable horror stories with some of the most threatening antagonists in movie history.

Rating of
2.5/4

Gabe - wrote on 09/18/2016

I know this is considered a classic, but quite frankly, I don't get it. The birds themselves are great, the special effects are good, but the movie as a whole, not very. First of all, why were the birds attacking? We never do find out. According to Wikipedia, the short story says they attack at high tide, but there is no mention of this in the film. I kept waiting for the mother or Miss Daniels to start controlling the birds Carrie style, but alas, no. This is a good film, but not one of Hithcock's best, more along the lines of Dial M for Murder or Strangers on a Train.

Rating of
4/4

Matthew Brady - wrote on 04/10/2014

The story is about a slew of birds begin attacking a small town where a girl chases down a guy see likes. This movie has so goofy visual effect's at some parts but the characters act and react like normal people in real life.

Rating of
3.5/4

worleyjamers - wrote on 06/29/2013

One of Hitchcock's absolute best, and most thrilling films.

Rating of
3.5/4

Snoogans - wrote on 12/04/2011

Hitchcock's 'monster movie' about a real-life (seemingly harmless) breed of animal. He uses some clever camera work and editing, along with various forms of SFX, to get past the restrictions of the effects of the time. There are many memorable scenes and I did like the absence of closure to the story.

Rating of
3.5/4

mitchellyoung - wrote on 12/04/2010

Despite the seemingly harmless antagonist, this film is one of the more terrifying Hitchcock films. Hitchcock manages to capture a ferocity and sense of helplessness that injects a lot of tension into every scene. He also displays some of his more inventive and artful camera angles and tricks, all serving to propel the mood and plot forward.

Rating of
3/4

Ikkinbot - wrote on 10/20/2009

This is just one of those movies you have to see, if only to say you've seen it. That being said, its actually really good. And remains very creepy . . . in fact I'd probably like it more if I didn't think it was so creepy.

Rating of
2/4

Alex - wrote on 03/23/2009

There were only two things that kept me going back to this movie: the eerie town and setting and the Tippi Hedren. M. Night S. has taken a few pages out of this movie - most of the bad ones. Bad FX. Hitch's worst I've seen. Disappointing.

Rating of
3/4

Chris Kavan - wrote on 01/21/2009

You wouldn't think that birds could be so terrorizing, but the master of suspense makes it work. The effects work, the casting and acting are key and that end... it sends shivers down my spine every time.

Rating of
4/4

Ichabod Crane - wrote on 09/19/2008

Hitchcock talents are well shown in this thriller, about Birds going crazy. He does it just right by making them scary but not doing anything overly Gorey, even though this may be one of the bloodiest of his movies. One thing that he does well is show happiness before the attacks, that way it does not go from bad to worse, it goes from good to worse. The birds special effects fro the most part are done very well there are a few scenes which do not look perfect though just due to technological problems. These are only the scenes when the bird film was put over the actors film. The best scenes in it are really more of the build up scenes, such as when there are just birds standing together, they are the most thrilling.

Are you sure you want to delete this comment?